The Wind Whisperer Blog Tour w Giveaway! Part II

The Wind Whisperer

The Wind Whisperer Cover

At fifteen, Anaii is the most important member of her tribe—and the most mysterious. Ever since Anaii can remember, the spirits of the wind have whispered of fertile hunting grounds and imminent enemy attacks. But when her people are ambushed by a brother clan without any apparent cause, the spirits remain eerily silent.
As the village prepares to retaliate, Anaii is pressured by her best friend, Elan, to marry him. It’s an old plea—Elan has spent a lifetime loving her, but Anaii only sees a childhood playmate out of an imposing warrior. Stifled by Elan’s insistence, Anaii escapes into the forest where she meets Jayttin, the beautiful son of the enemy chief.
Enamored by Jayttin’s carefree spirit and hope for peace, she repeatedly sneaks away to be with him, but when her deception is discovered, Elan is devastated. Pledging his lifelong affection, Elan gives her a passionate kiss, and Anaii begins to see her friend in a new light.
While Anaii is tormented over which man she must choose, the wind whispers of a new threat that could destroy both tribes. Only a union will afford a chance at survival, but the reality of that union is based on one thing—which man Anaii chooses to die.

Amazon – Kobo – Barnes & Noble
Add The Wind Whisperer to your Goodreads list!

My Review:

Don’t laugh but I keep thinking of Pocahontas when I read this book. I mean not really, but I love the Disney cartoon and some things fit. You know, they whispering willow tree, and the fun animals, and the tribal culture. And that’s about it in similarities, but still. And maybe a little Romeo and Juliet, minus the suicidal part. 🙂 Anyways, I enjoyed this story.  It’s also very cool way of living off the land, and we all forget how nice we have things with all of our technology and things like that. The characters are definitely charismatic and will appeal to most.  The main character is quite important in her role in life and I hate to say it, but it’s such pressure for a young girl. 

Anaii is the chief’s daughter, and she can hear the voices of spirits in the wind. They tell her how to help her clan in many different ways, like helping crops, and when rains come, and when the bad guys come. And there are some bad guys, some enemy clans that will fight and kill. And one night, Anaii gets a warning that saves herself and most of her small tribe. But she doesn’t understand why they attack for no reason, especially after they have gotten along with this clan for years. And Anaii’s father wants her to find out why. She’s a clever girl, she’s young, she has it a little too good sometimes, and she’s stubborn. So she has flaws and makes mistakes, but she’s still a very interesting character. She also has two different boys fighting for her attention and she’s a little new to this. 

I think this was the hard part. The boys were so cute. It’s hard to see a broken heart. But you’ll have to read to see this one. And a lot of the issue is Anaii, but what girl doesn’t love attention and flattery, and want love. And in her own defense, I don’t care who my daddy is, I will not be forced into a marriage for him, I will marry for love…. but it’s a different culture and I’m not in it, so I guess I can’t say anything.  And it’s also said that somethings just work out 🙂 You’ll have to read it LOL 

This really was an interesting read and it’s a fun story. I’m not actually sure if this story will continue into a series, as there’s a full wrap up, but somethings are left open. Maybe…. But it’s still a fun book to read with or without the addition. I think if you’re looking for a little something that’s unique and fresh, you should check this one out. A WONDERFUL, UNIQUE, WIND WHISPERING 4 PAWS!! 

paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

Author Interview:

First, tell me a little about your book and why you wanted to write this particular story….

When I started The Wind Whisperer I had in mind a sort of Native American Romeo and Juliet, but what I ended up with was very different. The Wind Whisperer is about a fifteen-year-old Native American Girl who has the ability to communicate with the wind spirits.  As Anaii’s character evolves she discovers that she can also move the wind—in big ways. The pinnacle of the story is when Anaii is forced to choose between her best friend and the beautiful son of an enemy chief.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

I wrote on and off through the years but my writing became serious after the huge success of Twilight. It occurred to me that there is an insatiable audience of women and girls who love “love stories” as much as I do.

What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

Ha, ha.  I was about ten when I wrote my first story.  It was called Merish and was about a girl who was part mermaid part fish.  I didn’t realize at the time that my mythical creature made no sense whatsoever.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

My life is much too boring to have much impact on my stories.  The two stories that I’ve published so far have been paranormal/historical.  They both required a lot of research which brought up a whole lot of interesting facts and ideas.

How do you choose when/which characters die in your books?

This is an interesting question for me. When I first outlined The Wind Whisperer, I intended for Anaii’s best friend, Elan, to die early on.  But as I dove deeper into Elan’s character I fell in love with him and then lacked the courage to kill him off.  This pivotal event created a juicy love triangle.

Who do you look up to as a writer? 

I love Shannon Hale for the sweet and magical ways she tells new fairy tales. I also love Tracy Chevalier for the way her historical stories come to life.  Stephanie Meyer also impacted my writing style. Is there any girl who didn’t want to be Bella when she read Twilight?

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

When I start a new story I become neurotic and write practically non-stop. I’ve been known to sit and type for 15 hours straight.  I usually emerge at the end of the story with my children ticked at me and my husband preaching about moderation.

What book are you reading now? Or what genre?My followers love author’s opinions!

I actually didn’t like the vampire book I just finished, so I won’t name it.  A couple of recent favourites have been Divergent, and Dead Beautiful

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

The cover was designed by the very talented Janice Duke.  I gave suggestions, but Janice made it all come together.  I think my cover tells a story and I like that.

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

From my research, I learned that the Native Americans weren’t romantic at all.  Not at least in the sense that we think. I once read about a warrior who returned home after a long absence.  When he spotted his wife, the couple gazed into each other’s eyes for a very long time.  That was it.  No embrace.  No yelps of joy.  No sloppy kiss.

About the Author:

Krista Holle

Krista Holle

Krista Holle is an award winning author who stepped up her writing after reading Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight series. It occurred to Krista that there is an insatiable audience of women and girls who want to read books filled with stories about true love—not just vampires. When Krista is not writing, she loves to collect seashells, watch movies, and eat obscene amounts of pizza. Krista currently resides in Montpelier, Virginia with her husband, four daughters and an eccentric cat with a weird attachment to the family’s socks.

Website/Blog – Twitter – Facebook – Goodreads – Amazon

Giveaway!

Giveaway Prizes

This is an International giveaway running for the tour, and the prizes up for grabs are:
GRAND PRIZE: 1 Kindle Fire, $25 Amazon Gift Card and a printed copy of The Wind Whisperer
Runner-up 1: Printed copy of The Wind Whisperer
Runner-up 2: Ebook copy of The Wind Whisperer

GO HERE TO ENTER THE GIVEAWAY!!! *you can also click on the picture above 🙂 *

So I wish you all good luck today! If you want to check out my first stop, GO HERE!  Make sure and check both stops for another chance to enter the giveaway 🙂 Happy reading and later gators! 

