Happy Book Birthday The Shadow Soul w Flash Giveaway!

Today I have another one of those awesome requests. So, this is cool. I got this request from an author I’ve read and worked with before. I read her first series, and since she is starting a new series, I HAD to share it and tell you all about it! I loved that she thought I may have forgotten her, like I could forget people who write great books! But, let me just say that as much as I LOVED her first series, this one is going to be even better! I am so excited about this one, so I should show you goodies now! 

The Shadow Soul (A Dance of Dragons, #1)

THE SHADOW SOUL: 
 
Game of Thrones meets Graceling in a new fantasy series by bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis. 
 
Jinji has been haunted by the death of her twin brother for ten years. Now, on the dawn of her joining, the nightmare that claimed him has returned for her. 
Prince Whylrhen is determined to prevent the past from repeating itself. His kingdom is expecting a new heir, and he will stop at nothing to keep the child safe. 
 
Though they’ve never met, the two share a deep secret—magic. Jinji can weave the elements to create master illusions and Whylrhen can pull burning flames into his flesh. But neither of them knows what they are truly capable of until a chance encounter brings them together. For their story has played out before, in a long forgotten time—an age of myth that is about to be reborn…
 
 **On-Sale February 20th, 2014**
You can also read the first three chapters HERE!
My Review:
I want to start by saying, Ms Davis, you are horrible leaving me on a note like that! You better write fast because I think my eyes bugged out of me head at the end! But now, to good stuff LOL, having read and loved her Midnight Fire series, I know I would at least like this one. I like this author’s writing, and I love dragons. Well…. I am totally IN LOVE! I think I may actually like this series even more than the Midnight Fire series and this is only the FIRST of the series. It’s a well written beginning of a wonderful new world of fantasy that is going to lead to great adventure! I just know it, as I already love what’s happened so far! I actually hadn’t seen the cover until after I started reading the ARC and I can’t wait to see what the next cover will look like 🙂 I was completely captivated by every word and everything that happened since the first page! 
We start out with two main characters and POVs. I will start with Jin, who is an “oldworlder” or what we may think of as Native American (if you live in the US), and they live simple lives, in sync with the land and nature. And boy, within the first few paragraphs does she have her whole world stolen from her in tragic circumstances and in a mind blowing way. I cried for the damn epilogue because it’s just sad. But it’s going to shape Jin into everything she is and who she is to become. She changes the most in this story. She disguises herself as a boy, gets discovered by Prince Rhen, goes on a life changing, world traveling journey with him, learns things she never thought possible, and becomes a beautiful soul in the process, while healing herself and Rhen 🙂 I love her character. And I KNOW she is going to have so much more to come. I really thought she was going to tell Rhen she was a chick multiple times in the story, and it was mind blowing how it was found out. I can’t say more except that she is going to have a rough journey ahead. 
Prince Rhen is our next main POV. He’s actually a very complex character. He’s a prince, but he loves going around as a commoner, and his family makes me mad, because they really do treat him differently than his brothers, who are truly treated as Princes. But we can’t talk about that right now. Rhen discovers Jin while on a discover mission he isn’t supposed to be on. He’s actually quite caring and funny, and very smart, and very attentive to details most wouldn’t care to notice. I think he’s a fantastic character because he still has a way to go, but he’s also been changed by having Jin come into his life. AND his love for his horse is enough to make me swoon like a teenage girl at a boy band concert! Like totally awesome!!!!! AND he’s very caring to his people, and even to people who aren’t. I happen to LURV him alot! 
The writing is flawless. The story and plot line, and plot twists, had me captivated and enamored for the first words. I couldn’t put this book down for anything, and I absolutely cannot wait for book two. The world building is amazing. I feel like I can feel the spirits when Jin speaks of them. And I can feel the fire on my skin like Rhen. And the secondary characters are just as great as the main characters. I am salivating to finish what was left hanging, say like a dagger from one’s body 🙂 Yeah, way to play that cliff hanger! But still, it’s an amazing start to a new series that is going to have people of all ages wanting so much more. Plus, it touches on the fact that people from all aspects of life can live and love each other no matter their differences. I love this! I look forward to so much more adventure from them!  Let the Magic Begin! A MAGNIFICENT, MAGICAL, ILLUSION WEAVING 5 DRAGON PAWS! 
paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main
About the Author:
Kaitlyn Davis
Kaitlyn Davis is the bestselling author of the Midnight Fire series, a young adult paranormal romance, and the A Dance of Dragons series, a young adult epic fantasy. Kaitlyn graduated Phi Beta Kappa from Johns Hopkins University with a B.A. in Writing Seminars. She’s been writing ever since she picked up her first crayon and is overjoyed to finally share her work with the world. She currently lives in New York City and dreams of having a puppy of her own.

Kaitlyn loves interacting with fans and meeting new people! If you have any questions for her–about her books, about scheduling an event, or just in general–you may contact her at:
KaitlynDavisBooks@gmail.com
Giveaway!
If you hurry, today as the release day, Ms Davis is giving a signed copy on Goodreads HERE!
Ms Davis, THANK YOU for sending me that funny, yet sweet email that has given me yet another amazing series to fantasize over! Please, never again think I will forget you because you’re writing is too good for that! I am so grateful for the opportunity to share your goodies, now just don’t make me wait too long for more! 🙂 
I hope you guys enter the giveaway! It’s a great book! And I wish you luck if you do! If not, check out this author and her wonderful books! Happy reading and later gators!