Beasts of Burdin Blog Tour w Giveaway!

beasts of burdin banner

Hello everyone! I am thrilled to have a new author over today AND it’s a J Taylor Publishing author. This new book is fantastic and I can’t wait to tell you all about it. So, WELCOME Mr Nader! I hope you enjoy your stop over today! Meaning I hope you like me enough to come back LOL 🙂 Now let me show you guys some new goodies!! 

Beasts of Burdin

Beasts of Burdin

Beasts of Burdin

by Alexander Nader

Release Date: February 10, 2014

Target Reader: Adult

Keywords: Urban Fantasy

Description

Demon hunter Ty Burdin hung up his guns, knife, trench coat and fedora a year ago. Bags packed, hands washed of all demon politics, he’s done. Forever.

In fact, to get far far away, he dragged Nora, his rockabilly secretary, from Miami to the Tennessee mountains where he’s lived a life of peace—if peace can be defined as drowning in scotch and taking private eye jobs to keep the lights on. Jobs for real people. Not demons.

No demons.

He’s retired from that. Remember?

Demon hunters aren’t a dime a dozen, though, and when Ty’s brother asks him for a favor—just one—what’s a brother to do? Agreeing to take down one hillbilly demon shouldn’t take that long. In. Decapitate. Out. Favor complete. Back to the office where Nora and his bottle of whiskey are waiting.

Unfortunately for Ty, staying retired doesn’t seem to be in the cards, and an avalanche of bad luck draws him right back to an agency he despises and the career that nearly cost him his sanity.

This time, Ty has no way out and will have to face his own demons just to survive.

Format

ISBN / ASIN

Price

Paperback 978-1-937744-41-0 $12.99
Kindle   $3.99
EPUB 978-1-937744-42-7 $3.99

Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/beasts-of-burdin

Excerpt of Chapter 1

“Ty Burdin! Answer the phone already. It’s your brother.” The voice comes from the next room in a tone usually used by stress-fried mothers, not twenty-something-year-old receptionists. The harsh words crack through my whiskey-soaked brain like someone snapped a bullwhip in my ear. I pick my head up off the desk and wipe the drool from my mouth, as she bursts in the door.

“He’s adopted, and good morning,” I say, opening the drawer to my desk and digging through it.

“It’s not morning. It’s past noon, you lazy drunk.” Her tone is accusing, but there’s a slight smile to her ruby red lips. I really do think Nora gets enjoyment from trying to keep me in line. Her rockabilly style, all tattoos and polkadots, might scare some people off, but honestly, I think it’s kind of cool.

“Fine, I was wrong about the time, but you’re wrong, too,” I say.

“Oh, yeah? How’s that?” Nora kicks her hip to the side and props a hand on her leopard print skirt.

“I’m not drunk. I’m hungover.” I pull out a flask full of scotch and take a long drink. “I’m working on getting back on track, though.” I tip the flask toward her.

“I swear someone’s gonna find you in a ditch one day.” Her voice has a trace of concern, but it’s mostly drowned out by annoyance.

“In my line of work, that’s almost a guarantee. Now, can you tell me why you disturbed my ugly sleep?” Ugly sleep is a gross understatement. No amount of alcohol ever seems to drown out the vision of the young, innocent girl burned into my memory. The scene is even more ominous in my dreams than it was in real life.

A thunderclap breaks the silence of my memories. Nora stares down at me, hands stuck together. “Wake up, drunkard. Hartnet’s been trying to reach you on the phone for the past fifteen minutes.”

The pocket of my jacket buzzes, probably been ringing the entire time. Nora walks over to where it hangs by the door and withdraws the phone. “Jesus, Ty. You’ve got four missed calls, ten new messages, and over twenty emails. Do you ever check this thing?”

“No.” I have the phone, but honestly, I hate it.
Nora sets the still ringing phone on my desk, puts her hands on her hips and, using only facial expressions, guilts me into picking up.

“Hello,” I say into the phone that smells of smoke. I use my free hand to dig out cigarettes and a lighter.

“Ty! Finally, man, where you been?” Hartnet asks.

“Oh, you know me. I just got back from hiking the Swiss Alps with Edmund Hillary.”

“Real funny, Ty, but I imagine you’ve been spending more time with Jim or Jack.”

“God, no, I hate southern whiskey,” I say. “I prefer a fine scotch, Macallan to be specific.”

“You prefer whatever’s in front of you as long as there’s a proof label on the bottle,” Hartnet says.

I don’t have any argument for that. “So, what do you want?”

My Review:

I love when I am surprised by a book that I like ALOT! I almost passed on this one, ALMOST, but I am SO GLAD, that I not only had a little inspiration, but that I took the chance to read something new. It’s FANTASTIC! I think my favorite part is the most awesome sarcasm I’ve read in forever! The main character is full of shit, pardon that, but he even tells you, and though he is seriously crutching on his cigarettes and scotch, and he kills demons, and sometimes humans, he’s a good guy, and sometimes, there is no black and white, but 50 shades of grey, and no, I don’t mean that stupid novel of trashy sex scenes! LOL UhOh, now now, don’t get mad, I’m talking about Ty and his demons here 🙂 

So Ty is a retired demon hunter, turned PI. His family name is all people and demons need to hear, he and his family are legendary in the demon hunting community.  And he’s bad ass, and sometimes bad. LOL He has a serious issue with feeling, and has the best sarcastic humor I’ve read in a while. And though he will never ever admit it, he’s a good guy, hiding behind the hard core look. If you took away the magical part, Ty reminds me of Harry Dresden, and let me explain that sentence. He has that calm about him. He knows he could die, he even says he’s scared, but he’s going to do it anyway, he’s gunna go down fighting. He’s not magical like Harry, but he has some serious weapons, and some very awesome sidekicks! And he has a past that’s still haunting him 🙂 

The writing is well done. I mean, who wouldn’t snort and giggle at all of Ty’s horribly sarcastic, dry, humorous comments. And you know that comes from somewhere, or someone 🙂 And the world building is excellent, mostly because it’s based on reality. There’s not this big elaborate new deal, except that there are some demons and they are becoming more frequent, and they are killing more people. The plot line is excellent. You think retired demon hunter, and I kept thinking older guy, BUT Ty is in his very early 30’s! He even talks like he’s old sometimes. LOL I loved this. AND he has a very determined narration. He’s very captivating. 

There are some excellent side characters, like Ty’s brother, and his secretary. Hart, his brother, and Nora his secretary, have completed Ty. The things that I would say lacked in Ty’s character are made up for with them, and they are the perfect addition to the story, and I love them! And I loved that this is well into the gritty, haunting Urban Fantasy Genre. It has so much to offer, and though this author is new with this book, I have so much to expect, because this one was great, which means it can still get better! I am definitely looking forward to book two. A well written, excellent beginning to a new series that I am so going to stalk for more! 5 FIERY DEMON HUNTING PAWS! 

paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

Author Interview!

WELCOME!! First, tell me a little about your book and why you wanted to write this particular story….

-It’s a little book packed full of humor and demons. Odd mixture, I know, but so far most people seem to think it works together. An obsession with classic noir literature is what made me want to write Burdin. I wanted to write something with that snarky, private eye kind of feel, but also 21st century, so I added demons.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

-I have been writing in one form or another for as long as I can remember, but I really didn’t start taking it seriously until a couple years ago. I have a tendency to burn through hobbies and I thought I’d try my hand at writing a book. It was super fulfilling so I wrote another one and another one.

What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

-The first novel I wrote was called Refuge in the Inferno. It was terrible. The inspiration was time travel and adventure and the story worked out pretty well, but I was terrible at writing and hadn’t discovered my voice at the time. I know better now.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

-In Beasts of Burdin some of the background is stuff I’ve experienced living where I live, but pretty much everything else is either B.S. or I’ve copied something subliminally. A couple times I’ve looked back at something I’ve written and said, “Man, that sound just like so and so.” I try to avoid it though, I don’t want my friends hating me for novelizing them.

How do you chose when/which characters die in your books?

-Ummm…I don’t know really. I guess just when the story dictates someone needs axed, I axe them.

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

-New authors? Hmm, that’s a tough one. I’m super backed up on my reading and don’t stay up enough to catch a lot of breakout new writers. I got to read the ARCs of Laney McMann and Jonathan Lister’s debut novels last year and found both of them to be very entertaining.

Well, I do love your fellow JTP authors as well 🙂 Who do you look up to as a writer?

-Raymond Chandler for his directness. The guy told you what you needed to know and kept the story moving. And the dude had dead-on wit and metaphors. I’m real jealous. Also, Joe Hill. The guy’s a literary beast. Every story I’ve ever read of his threatened to tear my heart out. I aspire to gain that kind of control over my readers.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

-Nah. Do-overs are for sissies.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

-Grammar. It’s not my friend.

What book are you reading now? Or what genre? My followers love author’s opinions!

-Right this moment I am reading: Dance with Dragons, the fifth book in the Game of Thrones series, Riding the Rap by Elmore Leonard on audiobook, Locke and Key comic books by Joe Hill; and me and the kids are reading Ultimate Spider-man and Amazing Spider-girl comics when they do all their homework and eat dinner, brussel sprouts and all.

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

-The art director at J. Taylor Publishing. They took my list of demands and made them real after some gentle-ish prodding on my part.

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

-Study English. Really, me and words wrestle sometimes.

If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

-Anyone but Ty. The guy gets it rough.

Are there any books you think some of us should read, just because?

-Whatever makes you happy. What’s the quote? “Life is too short for bad books.” Something like that.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

-Thank you.

No thank you!!! I hope you come back!

About the Author:

Alexander Nader

Alex lives in the tourist infested hills of east Tennessee with his amazing wife/muse and three superb children. He would tell you more about how awesome they are, but you probably wouldn’t believe him. When he’s not hanging out with them he’s making pizzas. When he’s not doing that he’s working at a bookstore and occasionally he jots a few words down. He’s a big fan of good music, good storytelling, and mixed martial arts.

He once wrote a short story about pirates to his wife via text message that blossomed into a full length novel and never stopped after that.

Facebook        Twitter        Goodreads        Website

Giveaway!

There is a tourwide giveaway of a ton of things, like books and gift cards, so GO HERE TO ENTER!!! 

I want to first say a small little thanks to JA Belfield, who always reminds me about great books, and fantastic tours, when I procrastinate. THANKS MS B! I’m so glad you recommended this one to me 🙂 AND I’d also like to thank Mr Nader, for being patient, and on top of everything! I can’t wait to do it again with Burdin of Choice! And thanks for stopping by for an interview! And one more, thanks J Taylor Publishing, you ROCK with great books to read!!! 🙂 

Now, you guys, go enter that giveaway AND GOOD LUCK!!! I hope you guys check out this book. And this new author! Happy reading and later gators! 

One thought on “Beasts of Burdin Blog Tour w Giveaway!

  1. Catherine T. says:

    I LOVED this book! Glad you did too ;). Thanks for the heads re: the giveaway!

What do you have to say?

