Quicksilver Dreams Author Interview!

Hello everyone! I have a special author interview to show you today!! I recently had a blog tour for this one, you can see it HERE, and I wanted to let the author tell you a little more 🙂 

Quicksilver Dreams (Dreamwalkers, #1)

Quicksilver Dreams

Dreamwalkers

Book One

Danube Adele

Genre: PNR New Adult

Publisher: Carina Press

ISBN: 978-14268-9785-6

ASIN: B00F93X86Q

Number of pages: 317

Word Count:  132,000

Carina Press  Amazon   Barnes and Noble   

Book Description:

My name is Taylor, and damn but my life changed overnight. One moment I was just a regular girl working two jobs to pay my bills, and next thing you know, I’m uncovering secret metal disks at my boss’s house. Now I’m reading minds, dream-walking and being saved from bad guys by Mr. Dark and Brooding.

That would be Ryder Langston, my new next-door neighbor. He’s sex on legs but he’s also a secret agent from another world—no joke. I believe him now because he dragged me back here “for my protection” after he discovered someone was trying to assassinate me on Earth. It isn’t working out so well.

There’s a war going on, one that’s been fought for generations. Ryder’s having trust issues (not that it’s stopping us from falling into bed), and it turns out I’m connected here, if you know what I mean. The target on my back finally makes sense, but there’s nowhere left to hide…

Goodreads book page: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18664988-quicksilver-dreams

Prologue

Was this a dream?

Had I ever felt this lucid in a dream before?

I could feel the silky material around my eyes, on my wrists and ankles, softly sliding against my skin. With my body waking to sensual heat seeping through my veins, I only wanted to concentrate on what was happening in the moment, appreciate the swirl of masculine energy twining through the feminine threads of my own.

So good…

My dreams usually had a surreal, nondistinct, floating quality to them. This time, I actually felt a large, rough hand feathering over the skin on my rib cage, my flat stomach, agonizingly slow, avoiding obvious erogenous zones.

It was a hot, searing touch. It was like someone was actually there. Someone I wanted…

More… Like that… So good…

I could scent spicy soap that was subtle, yet distinctly male, arousing, and couldn’t help the feverish whispers of encouragement.

Oh, my God… Yes…

My sex dreams usually made me struggle with the frustration of a roller-coaster experience that never finished. I would ride a buildup of desire and a cool down, over and over, my imagination acting as a careless lover with wonderful intent but clumsy execution. This time there was no such neglect. The burn was exquisite, building and teasing, ebbing and flowing, but never forgetful and creating a fever that made me writhe with need.

Please!

Never had I ever felt this way before, chanting my demand, desperately wanting to reach the end of the ride.

Yes! Like that! Yes!

Sudden sensation poured over and through me, powerfully enough that I woke myself and sat up. My breath was short and gasping. My body was quivery and oversensitized. I was covered with a fine sheen of sweat, and my sheet was twisted in carefree abandon around my naked body.

I half expected to find a man in front of me.

Rubbing my wrists as though the soft bindings were still tied to me, I glanced around my sparsely furnished bedroom and felt my body quake with a small, faint aftershock. I was alone. Nothing was disturbed. At the same time that I drew comfort from seeing that everything in my world was still in its place, a faint echo of grief, or disappointment, took the edge off my contentment, like I was missing something. I was solo after such an erotic experience.

What about the hand? Who was it attached to?

A part of me had to give a mental headshake of exasperation.

No men for you. At least not yet.

The inevitable weight of responsibility, like a bucket of ice water, reminded me that I needed to work and pay the bills. I had to make ends meet. There was no one who was going to help me.

Usually, I accepted this with a matter-of-factness, but this night, a spike of resentment reared its head.

What would it be like to be a normal girl who had time for frivolity?

I quashed the thought immediately, too tired to let it take root.

Why fight the wave? I just had to ride it.

Settling back on my pillow, I once again closed my eyes and let the languorous effects of postorgasmic lassitude steal over me. Strangely, as my mind once again stretched fingers toward my deep subconscious, the whisper of a gentle caress down my cheek didn’t frighten me.

My Review: 

 So this is a new author and a new series, and it kicks off with a start. I’d also like to confess I usually don’t read too much sci-fi, I stick with the fantasy parts. 🙂 LOL but it’s definitely interesting and a page turner. Out of this world kind of page turner, literally. It’s a fresh new way to create a new world and a wonderful start to a new series! 

Taylor is our female main. She’s definitely is an intriguing lady. She’s had lots to cope with. And even with all her bad hands, she’s still a sweet girl. Taylor finds something that has a cause and effect that’s a little mind blowing, for her at least. And once she gets Ryder, her life definitely changes, and her sex life is now quite spicy LOL.  Ryder is our main man. Well, he’s something else, literally. LOL And he takes Taylor to his “place” that’s really really far away. LOL And Ryder is a little overbaring but I guess that happens with alpha males right. 

The writing was easy and flowed well. There’s plenty of action, mystery, page turning. I will say the only reason it’s not a 5 PAW review, it that once Taylor and Ryder get to his “place” it’s really complex. There’s really a lot to take in and a lot of descriptions. I look forward to learning where things are going to go from here now. 🙂 4 Intergalactic PAWS! 

paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

Author Interview

First, tell me a little about your book :)….

Taylor’s life changed overnight. One day, she was just a regular girl working two jobs to pay the bills, and the next, she’s reading minds, dreamwalking and having run-ins with her new, sexy neighbor Ryder, Mr. Dark and Brooding. He doesn’t trust her in the least, but it doesn’t stop him from looking at her like she could be his next feast, something she doesn’t seem to mind. He also manages to show up right in the nick of time to protect her from bad guys who, for some reason, are out to kill her.
Ryder’s not just an ordinary guy. He’s from Te`re, a world millions of light years away, and has come hunting a known terrorist who’s hiding out on Earth. Believing that Taylor is involved with helping the bad guy, he shadows her, only to discover that she’s the one in danger, and the thought of anything happening to her is unacceptable.
Before long, Taylor finds herself millions of light years away, there’s a war that’s been going on for generations, and she’s having to rely on the one man to keep her safe, who makes her heart race, but who won’t trust. In order to save both worlds, they will need to work together before time runs out.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?
My mother loved reading and writing, and she encouraged me to do the same from an early age. My imagination was rich, and it just came naturally to have characters or fantastic situations play themselves out in my mind. Then I would pen them in my spiral-bound notebooks, oftentimes when I was supposed to be doing something else, like my homework. I still have those notebooks in my shelf with pages and pages of handwritten stories, all about young love.

What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?
Quicksilver Dreams is my first, full-length novel. I was inspired to write it because I’d just finished reading a fun, fast-paced, page-turner of a book that was written in the first person, and, my sons had reached an age where they were more self-sufficient, which meant I didn’t have as much to do for them. That left me with free time. So, I picked up my spiral-bound notebook again. I had never tried writing in that particular point of view before and immediately decided it was worth an experiment. Using the first person, I wrote a scene just to see how it would turn out, and when it was done, I loved it. The rest of the story sort of just flowed from there. I “pantsed” it, keeping a loose idea of a plot in my mind, but nothing really definite. I sort of let the story unravel the way it seemed to want to.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?
Writing can be absolutely therapeutic, let me tell you. You do try to write what you know, which is why having a variety of experiences can be wonderful. There’s a scene in the book where Taylor, who is working as an assistant to a literary agent in Hollywood, has a load of verbal abuse dumped on her, and that was absolutely close to an experience I had way back when. For a good year, I worked at one of the top talent agencies in Hollywood and got to experience the extraordinary pressures that come with the job. Another of my personal experiences that I gave to my character, Taylor, was kickboxing. In my early twenties, and for a few years, I got into doing muay thai kickboxing. It was a hardcore, kick your butt, torturous kind of workout, and I loved it like crazy! It gave me the best body I’d ever had in my life, with actual delineation of stomach muscles, which I’d never been able to accomplish before, not even when I was a competitive gymnast as a kid. Of course, since then, having children and a supremely busy life didn’t let me dedicate that kind of time to fitness anymore, but it’s nice to remember that at one point, I was able to accomplish that. I could totally rock the heavy bag! 

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?
She’s not a new author, but she’s new to me – Maya Banks. I recently read one of her books, a supermarket grab as I was going through with my basket. My husband always shakes his head when I go through that aisle at Vons because the only reason I go through that aisle is to check out the book section. A funny coincidence – Maya Banks was part of a Jeopardy question about a week ago. I rarely watch, but the very time I did, a short ten minute block, the question had to do with romance novels. Isn’t that funny.

Who do you look up to as a writer?
There are a number of writers I have looked up to over the years, women mostly, who’ve written wonderful stories that taught me to respect myself as a woman and to look for and appreciate real strength of character in men. The first romance novel I’d ever read in middle school was the first one Nora Roberts ever wrote titled Irish Thoroughbred. It’s fitting that I name her as I’ve likely read more of her books than anyone’s. Her stories have a universal quality to them that anyone could relate to, and her characters all seem to remind me of someone I know. They feel complete and well-rounded. I hope I can create stories that offer the same vibe.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?
Quicksilver Dreams was such fun to write. There isn’t a thing I would change. The characters came to life for me in full HD in my brain, and the story just seemed to develop naturally. I love it as is and hope it’s a page turner for anyone who reads it.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?
Being that Quicksilver Dreams was my first novel, I had a lot of time to think, tinker, walk away, come back, work on it some more, let my good friend and wonderful critique partner read it, and continue pondering it over a long period of time. This is when I hadn’t yet sold it. Now, I’m writing the next two books in the series on a deadline. That adds a whole new shift to the paradigm. There’s an added stress to knowing you need to produce within a given amount of time, so that has been a challenging adjustment.

What book are you reading now? Or what genre?
Last night, I finished reading Just One Night by Kyra Davis. It was a contemporary. Again, it was a supermarket grab a few weeks back, and I thought it looked interesting. Turns out, it was very good. I can definitely recommend it. Very steamy with wonderfully complex issues.

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?
Carina Press has a wonderful art team/marketing department that is in charge of covers. What’s nice, though, is they don’t ignore the author in their work. When the cover to Quicksilver Dreams was completed, they sent it to me via email and gave me a chance to voice an opinion. Of course, I loved it, so there wasn’t much else to be said.

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?
I’ve learned that I work best in absolute silence with earplugs and to beware of the internet as she is an evil b*tch intent on sucking all my time away from being productive. If I truly want to meet my deadlines, I have to ignore the siren’s call of all the different social media and internet surfing that is just finger clicks away, and focus on the task at hand.

If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?
I truly dig my kick*ss heroine, Taylor Lane. I would want to be her in a nanosecond. She is cute, spunky, snarky, and can kick some butt, yet she has a heart of gold. Solid. She acts tough, but on the inside, she’s soft. She cares.

Are there any books you think some of us should read, just because?
There are so many great books and great authors, I can’t think of just one.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
I would love to share Quicksilver Dreams with you. It’s action-packed, has great plot twists, and the characters will have you cheering for them.

About the Author:

 

Danube Adele wrote her first romance at the age of seven when she penned the story of her dogs falling in love and having puppies. She’s been dreaming up romantic tales ever since. A lifetime resident of southern California, she spends time playing at the beach, camping in Joshua Tree National Park, and hiking Mammoth Mountain.

Always a lover of adventure, she and her husband took their sons on a cross country road trip to Florida and back in an old VW Westfalia, that had no A/C, in the month of July, and still, it continues to be the best trip they ever took. Extensive travel and trying new things has kept the creative spark alive. Danube lives in Claremont with her biggest fans, her loving husband, amazing and wonderful identical twin sons, and a teddy bear of a Rottweiler.

Her debut novel, Quicksilver Dreams, Book 1 of the Dreamwalker series was officially released January 6, 2014.

www.danubeadele.wordpress.com

www.facebook.com/Writer.D.Adele

www.twitter.com/DanubeAdele

I hope you guys check out this new author and her new book! Thank you to the lovely author for stopping by today too! Happy reading and later gators! 
4 thoughts on “Quicksilver Dreams Author Interview!

  1. Carina Press is a wonderful, well-run house. I love being one of their authors. Book sounds very intriguing, Danube!

  2. Great interview. I’ve got this book on my Kindle. I need to find time to read it!

What do you have to say?

