The Elemental Detective Review!

Hello everyone!! Today I am spotlighting a series that I’ve come to like, a lot, with having read only the last two books of the series. Yes, I know, I need to read the first three right. LOL BUT I still like this series, so I am going to show you some goodies today 🙂 

The Elemental Detective (Riga Hayworth, #5)

 

The Elemental Detective (Riga Hayworth #5)

260 pages
Published December 21st 2013 by misterio press (first published December 16th 2013)
ISBN13 9780985510367
Mermaids, menehunes, and murder.Riga Hayworth just wants to relax with her new husband on their Hawaiian honeymoon. But a body on a Kauai beach pulls them into a murder investigation, sending the supernatural world into an uproar.

When Riga detects traces of magic at a murder scene, she knows she can’t ignore the call. There’s necromancy afoot, and she must prepare for the battle to come. But can Riga fight the forces of nature? Or will they destroy her and everyone she loves?

Book five in the Riga Hayworth series of paranormal mystery novels, The Elemental Detective is a fun, fast-paced urban fantasy blending romance with the supernatural, and exploring the magic of Hawaii.

My Review:
One reason I love this series is that I came in at book 4, and still felt good about the book. Yes it’s a series, yes it gives you everything you need to know what’s happening, yes, you can read each one by themselves and be ok. I like that. If you wanted to read just this book, you could, without finding big info dumps, and not feel like you are losing half of the books previously done. With that said, I think you guys should read the books, because even I WANT to read all the books that I haven’t 🙂 
So, Riga is a PI and she got married, if you remember last book I was talking about her fiance’, and she goes on her honeymoon… In Hawaii… with her hawt new husband Donovan…. and more drama ensues! LOL I swear, chaos follows her around 🙂 Oh, and did I mention she’s a necromancer. *crazy person smile!* And she happens to find murdered bodies. And Hawaii is having an effect on her husband, magically speaking. I love them as a couple. I am so very glad that things have worked, so far at least, for them 🙂 And the author has made them so very lovable, you want to hug them and cheer for them! 
There is such an excellent plot going on here, and who doesn’t wanna honeymoon in Hawaii. Plus the magical side of things has a way of captivating you and keeping you ensnared in the story. AND it’s unpredictable. And after all that’s happened to Riga and Donovan, especially with the crazy of the last book, I have come to want so much more of them! I love the writing style, and I especially want to see more to come. I know just from reading two books that I love this series, and I swear it, I will need to get the first three soon so I can have a a full series review for you guys! So, YES! GIMME MORE!!! 5 COMPLETELY SHOCKING PAWS!!! 
paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main
Author Interview!

First, tell me a little about your book and why you wanted to write this particular story….

In The Elemental Detective, metaphysical detective Riga Hayworth is on her Hawaiian honeymoon. She had such a struggle getting to the altar, I wanted to write a mystery where she got to enjoy being married. In this book, she and her new husband, Donovan Mosse, get to team up solving a paranormal mystery together. I was a bit nervous writing them as a team, because Riga has been a lone wolf up until this point. But they made a fun team.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

I know it’s clichéd, but I’ve wanted to be a writer since I read my first Nancy Drew story. Well, actually, originally I wanted to be a girl detective, but figured out fairly quickly that wasn’t realistic. Writing mysteries was the next best thing.

What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

My first manuscript was a historical mystery I wrote about ten years ago called The Contrary Countess. It was inspired by a story about a young woman who stepped off a ship in San Francisco during the Gold Rush, and got swept off her feet on the pier by a man who became her husband. But what really fascinated me was the year 1848, just after gold was discovered but before the rush began. Then San Francisco pretty much emptied out of its men, leaving a village of a couple hundred women. I just imagined the ships landing, the sailors hearing the news and abandoning them, and flowing through this village of women. It seemed a great setting for a female amateur sleuth. But I’ll be honest – the story was not well plotted and the characters were flat. So the story got shelved. But no writing goes to waste. I recently took the setting, redesigned the characters, wrote a whole new plot, and published a new steampunk novel of suspense, Steam and Sensibility.

How do you chose when/which characters die in your books?

In my mysteries, a body usually falls in the first chapter – I like to get straight to the action! And those characters usually have a mix of positive and negative traits that makes them murder-worthy but sympathetic.

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I’m enjoying the Glamourist series by Mary Robinette Kowal. It’s sort of Jane Austen meets magical history, and she does a terrific job of building her magical world.

What book are you reading now? Or what genre? My followers love author’s opinions!

I just finished Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz. I guess I’d call it a paranormal mystery/suspense – Odd knows someone’s going to commit mass murder and he knows when, but not who or where. What a hook!

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

Becky Scheel designed it inspired by a box of salt I found in Iceland. We work closely on the cover ideas, and since we’re cousins, I try not to be too big of a pain when it comes to cover changes. But I’m probably a bigger pain than I think!

If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

Funny you should ask! I was just thinking I wouldn’t mind being Brigitte the gargoyle. She’s self-confident to the point of being a bit obnoxious, but she’s usually right and she gets to fly.

 

About the Author:

Kirsten Weiss

Kirsten Weiss is the author of the proto-Steampunk novel, Steam and Sensibility, and the Riga Hayworth series of paranormal mysteries: the urban fantasy, The Metaphysical Detective, The Alchemical Detective, The Shamanic Detective, The Infernal Detectiveand The Elemental Detective.

Kirsten worked overseas for nearly fourteen years, in the fringes of the former USSR and deep in the Afghan war zone.  Her experiences abroad not only gave her glimpses into the darker side of human nature, but also sparked an interest in the effects of mysticism and mythology, and how both are woven into our daily lives.

Now based in San Mateo, CA, she writes paranormal mysteries, blending her experiences and imagination to create a vivid world of magic and mayhem.

Kirsten has never met a dessert she didn’t like, and her guilty pleasures are watching Ghost Whisperer reruns and drinking good wine.

@RigaHayworth
Kirsten’s Facebook Page
Kirsten’s Google+ Page
Kirsten’s Pinterest Boards

Find me on Goodreads

Kirsten’s Website: http://kirstenweiss.com

I wanna say a HUGE THANK YOU to Ms Weiss for letting me reading your books and sharing them ! I am now such a huge fan because you’ve let me discover them. I hope we can keep this up! 

A big thanks to you guys for hanging out with us today too 🙂 I hope you check this one out, this author, this book., this series, all of this! Happy reading and later gators!! 

What do you have to say?

