Rising Shadows Blog Tour w Giveaway!

Rising Shadows Button 300 x 225

Hello everyone! I have a fun new book that I have to share with you guys today!! 🙂 It’s of course got werewolves! But it also has lions, bears, tigers, vampers, and a few creeptastic bad guys! I can’t wait to tell you all about it, BUT first, I needa show you some goodies. 🙂 

Rising Shadows (World in Shadows, #1)

Rising Shadows

World in Shadows

Book One

Bridget Blackwood

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Date of Publication: February 1, 2014

ISBN: 1494891751

ASIN: B00I6U2ARW

Number of pages: 107

Word Count: 32,404

Cover Artist: The Killion Group

Amazon   Nook  ITunes    Kobo 

Book Description:

Rachel Ryan wakes up with no knowledge of where she is or how she got there. Thrown into a world she thought only existed in myths, she finds more questions than answers.

Shape shifters, faeries, and vampires hide in plain sight among humans. There’s a war quietly brewing in the shadows. Rachel stands between mankind and those creatures that live in the darkness.

Enhanced with power she doesn’t understand, she’ll tip the scales, but who is the real enemy?

Excerpt

“The bitch has to die. She murdered my son!” The mother of the werewolf Rachel killed in self-defense. “I will avenge my child!”

Behind her is Alonzo’s brother. He puts his arm around his mother to comfort her. “Don’t cry Mama. I will get justice for Alonzo.” He turns towards the council and yells, “I demand Weregild from Rachel Ryan!”

 Out of nowhere, Bastien is beside Rachel. His hand on her arm, and whispers in her ear.

“Uh, I want Bastien as my champion!” Rachel blurts out as Bastien starts to unbutton his shirt.

Miguel just bit off a lot more than he can chew. Bastien is a fun loving kind of guy. He’s easy to laugh, and always joking, but he’s also the son of the Alpha Prime. He was taught to fight brutally from the cradle.

“Bastien, son, you are familiar with the law. She’s not our kin, nor mate to our kin. We have no ties to this woman. You cannot champion a stranger.” Claude reminds him.

Claude is a slick one. Every word he says is carefully measured. There was something in there meant for Bastien to grasp. Father and son stare at one another. Bastien snakes a hand around Rachel’s waist and leans her backwards until she’s flush against him. His right palm is flat on her abdomen. He tilts her head to the side with his left.

“Then I claim her.” His teeth sink into the flesh of Rachel’s neck. 

Bonus Materials

Quotes from the Book:

Quote 1

“I whooped the personal guards of the Vampire big kahuna. Whoops. In my defense, it’s not like they wore nametags.” – Rachel Ryan

Quote 2

“Is your plan to make me stupid with your sweet hands so I’ll agree to anything? Because it’s working.”    – Sebastien “Bastien” Bonvillian

Playlist:

  1. My Medicine by The Pretty Reckless
  2. Freak Like Me by Halestorm
  3. Titanium by Madilyn Extreme by Valora
  4. Not Strong Enough by Apocalyptica
  5. Oceans by Evanescence
  6. Echoes of an Empire by Picture Me Broken
  7. Carnival of Rust by Poets of the Fall
  8. Never Go Back by Evanescence
  9. Secret Door by Evanescence

My Review:

Let me start by saying this is a very fun, short beginning to a great new series. I am already looking forward to the next book. It’s got a very easy flow, like you will want to read it in one sitting. And it’s not too long, so you could. There are so many excellent characters, and a wonderful meaning behind the plot line. And some mystery, and some action, and some serious steamy parts 😉 Plus WEREWOLVES… Like I need to go on! 

So, Rachel wakes up, and she realizes she is in a hospital, not long after that she notices it’s a mental hospital. Or is it? She is told she “forgot” again, but that’s not exactly the case. And she also realizes that this is WAY more than a mental hospital. They are conducting human experiments. Holy crapizoly! She has to get out, and thanks to those evil bastards who did this to her, she finds a way into the arms of a HAWT wolf. 🙂 Rachel went through some horrible things in a very short time, or so it seems, and when she gets the chance to escape and save a little girl, she jumps at the chance. But her hurdles aren’t over. She is taken in by a werewolf pack, but she also has to defend herself against them. AND she learns just how many supernaturals are in existence. She’s so strong. I think I would have broken the first time in the “cage” and lost myself. No I won’t tell you what that means. And then she meets Bastien. And bonds with Livia. 

Bastien is the son of the alpha wolf. He just doesn’t want to be that alpha. And then Rachel comes sweeping in, causing all kind of chaos, and he basically trips on himself to help her, then take her home, while she’s knocked out, and save her. He’s all kinds of fun. And he has a pack of extremely interesting people. Some scary, some awesome, like his dad and sister, some not so cool, like his mom. And they are all part of a supernatural world. Dude, the lion, he’s awesome, I can’t wait for the next book. And I’m still a little confused about what happened with the “fae” people, and even the vampires are interesting. I need to know some more about them too. 

This book is a great opener for the series. I do wish it would have been longer, and had more, just more, about everyone, and everything, and anything. LOL Ok, I just wanted more. But it gives you the base to go on with how their world works, and what’s in store to come. The writing is very good, except that maybe a few more details could be added to some things, but other than that, I really can’t wait for the next one. In fact, I am looking forward to seeing Bastien’s sister and her tale. 🙂 AND what’s to come with some of those other wonderful characters that were in this first book. 🙂 4.5 EXCELLENT WOLFY PAWS!!! 

paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

Author Interview! 

First, tell me a little about your book :)….

Rachel is a woman caught between the humans and the nonhumans in a brewing war no one knows about. She has to pick a side and with it tip the balance that will change the world forever.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

I’ve always been a storyteller. My mom says I used to tell her stories before I could even speak full sentences. In 5th grade I wrote my first story and knew I wanted to write more.

What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

I was daydreaming as I often do and came up with the opening scenes as a sort of what if scenario. I wanted to know what would happen next and it evolved from there. It became the first draft of Rising Shadows.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Nope, can’t say they are. Never woken up with amnesia or been forced to fight a werewolf, lol! I take the mannerisms of some people for my characters but that’s about it.

How do you chose when/which characters die in your books?

A character’s death should propel the story, not just shock the readers. I pick character’s deaths based on if it serves the story. You can be logical about it. Say I’m planning to sink a boat at sea, who would be on the boat? Do I think they’d be a strong swimmer or try to be a hero and save others? If I’ve given no reason for a characters death, chances are they aren’t really dead ;0)

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Bella Jewel is fun to read because she is adventurous with her stories. She did the motorcycle club thing, now she’s started a modern day pirate series, and has a really interesting book called Number Thirteen I’m eager to read.

Aurora Rose Reynolds has an amazing series that starts with Until November.

Who do you look up to as a writer?

Mandy M. Roth and Michelle M. Pillow, both ladies are incredibly professional, highly interactive with fans, and produce several books each year.

My mentor is Skhye Moncrief. She’s taken me by the hand and been a great friend. I joke that she’s my Yoda, which could seem insulting since he’s not the most attractive fellow. I choose to see it as she wise in the things I need to learn and is working to help me grow as an author.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

I could have made a certain character’s fate a bit more clear but if I went and changed it I would have never written the follow up flash fiction Winter’s Kiss. I’m gonna say no, change nothing.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Getting my thought organized on the page in a way that is both easy to understand and fun to read can be a chore. My brain is a messy place with piles of notes stacked on every service.

What book are you reading now? Or what genre?

I’m reading Tainted by Jamie Begley, it’s a contemporary erotic romance

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

Kim Killion with The Killion Group designed it. I found the images but she was really the mastermind. Being my first book, I wasn’t sure what my cover needed for its genre. Kim took a lot of notes and then I trusted her to produce a winning cover. I think she did fantastic.

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

I learned that you can’t rush the process. You’ve got to take the time and do it right. I almost published it without letting an editor go through it. I dodged a major bullet with that one. I was mortified when I realized what I almost gave to readers.

If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

Maranda. Readers haven’t met her yet, she makes her debut in book three. She reminds me of Rachel in many ways but she comes into the game armed with a great deal more knowledge. She the brainy chick who wields her intellect like a sword.

Are there any books you think some of us should read, just because?

I’m a huge fan girl of Lauran Dohner. If you like shifter’s she has The New Species series and The Mating Heat series. She also writes a futuristic cyborg series and an alien series. I love reading her books. I have them all on pre-order when she announces them.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Whether you liked it or hated it, thank you for giving my book a read. Every author measures success differently. When I decided to publish my husband asked me what had to happen for me to feel like I accomplished something great. My answer was that at least one person decides to read it. I’m grateful for every reader. Want to tell me what you think or ask me a question? You can find me on Facebook as Author Bridget Blackwood.

About the Author:

843b9158-3ac7-4e00-b1a6-5fc2e76b467b_zpsadfef619 

Bridget Blackwood is a hopeless romantic and a fan of happily ever after. She grew up in East Texas where she met and married her high school sweetheart. Together they moved to Southern Illinois, it’s been home for over a decade now. Bridget began telling stories at an early age, she writes in self-defense because the characters in her head are loud and bossy. A social butterfly by nature, Bridget loves to talk and laugh. When she isn’t writing she enjoys watching horror movies, playing video games, and not cooking.

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/bridget.blackwood.9

Twitter  https://twitter.com/author_bridget

Blog  http://bridgetblackwood.wordpress.com/

Website  http://bridgetblackwoodauth.wix.com/book

Pinterest  http://www.pinterest.com/bridgetblackwoo/

Goodreads  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7735464.Bridget_Blackwood

Booklikes  http://bridgetblackwood9.booklikes.com/

Tour giveaway details

2 personalized signed print copies of Rising Shadows

3 Rising Shadows chainmail charm key chains

US and Canada  shipping only
a Rafflecopter giveaway

I am so glad I got to share all of this goodness with you! I wish you all good luck on the giveaway! AND a huge thanks to Ms Bridget for stopping by to hang out with us today!! I hope we can do it again really soon! 🙂 Happy reading and later gators! PS if you are celebrating, happy Good Friday and a soon to be Happy Easter!! 😉 

6 thoughts on “Rising Shadows Blog Tour w Giveaway!

  1. Merelyn Reads says:

    Random thought but I love your hair!!!

  2. jovialvampyre says:

    Sounds good. I like the hair too :).

  3. Awesome review! I’m happy you liked it. Thanks Merelyn and JovialVampyre, I like having bright crazy hair. Until May 31, 2014 I’m giving away book 1.2 for free. Contact me @ BridgetBlackwoodAuthor@gmail.com to request Winter’s Kiss.

  4. Kamla L. says:

    Sounds like a fun new series to look forward to. I’m always on the look out for the next PNR series to dive into. 🙂

What do you have to say?

