Berman’s Wolves Blog Tour!

Berman's Wolves Banner 450 x 169

Hello everyone! Today I have a little something special for you! Of course it has werewolves! So, let me show you some goodies!! 

Berman’s Wolves
Gretchen SB
 
Genre: Urban Fantasy
 
When a scientist runs an experiment on three separate college campuses that goes horribly wrong, several hundred students find their lives altered forever. They must learn to adapt to their new lives as Werewolves. Immediately after the incident a government program was put in place to keep track of these unwitting subjects. After a year the program falls apart as those in charge argue on how to proceed.
Without the programmers constantly looking over their shoulders the werewolves have now started to organize themselves. Creating their own hierarchy and alliances.
 
Jack is the Alpha of Pacific Northwest University’s pack F. He thought the government had finally taken a step back and let him and the other Alphas run their packs. Recently, however, he has been hearing rumblings about the programmers wanting to reinstate the program. He thought they were just rumors until he finds out one of his pack is being threatened by several of the lab assistants that took part in the original experiment. Now Jack must scramble to find allies and hunt down those threatening his pack. The more he goes looking the bigger the plot becomes.

My Review:

I first want to apologize as I need to postpone my review by a few days. Life gets a little crazy. BUT I can tell you that at 70% finished, I love the book, so just know that when my full review does come, hopefully within the next 24 hours, it’ll be a 5 PAW review, because it’s that good!

paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

Author Interview

WELCOME!! First, tell me a little about your book :)….

My book Berman’s Wolves, is about an experiment that was done on three college campuses that went slightly awry and turned several hundred students into Werewolves. The book takes place a few years later when the Werewolves are trying to govern themselves.

 

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?
I always enjoyed creating characters and stories. Even as a very small child. When I started thinking about writing was about 12 or 13. One of my very dear friends and I used to make up stories about characters we had created. I guess I got bit by the writing bug because I wrote on and off since then. But it was not until college that I considered writing as a career.

 

What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?
My first book, Lady of the Dead, was inspired by the opening sentence of the book. I wondered what if a person’s reality was not the reality that you and I know. So I wrote a little bit down and it sat there for years before I started working or it. Once I started, it morphed into a completely different story.

 

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?
Most of my stories and characters are just plucked from my head. There are a handful of characters though that I modeled after people in my life. Usually those characters morph a little and grow in their own way but you can still see glimpses of the people they are based on.

 

How do you choose when/which characters die in your books?
I both love and hate killing off characters. I love it because it puts the surviving characters in an extreme situation and you get to see how they react. On the other hand I try not to kill a character I like unless I absolutely have to. Since death is something, most, characters cannot come back from. If there is no other organic option then I push forward and kill the character.

 

I LOVED THAT ANSWER! You love and hate killing characters, LOL! Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?
I cannot always tell if an author is new or not. But I find authors whose books I enjoy, that are new to me all the time.

 

Who do you look up to as a writer?
Laurell K Hamilton, Nora Roberts, Sherrilyn Kenyon and Patricia Briggs. Each for a slightly different reason. Laurell K Hamilton talks about her characters speaking to her and the way she talks about her writing process is something I identify with. Nora Roberts has written 3.5 bazillion books, many are in different world and some, like her In Death series, are the same characters. I am so impressed and in awe of how she creates such wonderful characters and writes about them regularly and for such a long time. Sherrilyn Kenyon talks about having an overarching plot to her series and she knows where everything fits and gives a little information each book. I love that! She knows how everything goes down, that is just so much to keep straight. Patricia Briggs is a local author, kinda, for me which means I know all the places she talks about. But she has a way of creating whole three-dimensional characters, even if they are only for a page or two.

 

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?
That is a dangerous question. In all likelihood, yes. I say that because Berman’s Wolves was initially written about five years ago. I think if I had worked on it even six months later the story would change. I am a firm believer that our lives an attitudes directly affect what we write. Though I am happy with the story I know that it would be different if I had to write it all over again simply because I am different then I was five years ago.

 

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?
I love to write! The biggest challenge for me is finishing a story. I can start a story, then get distracted and not touch it again. I find that I have to sit down and force myself to see it through to the end.

 

What book are you reading now? Or what genre?
I am reading a lot of chick lit at the moment. I have yet to get my Kindle hooked in to the library system, but once I do that I plan on powering through one of Simon R Greens Series!

 

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?
Talina Perkins at http://www.bookinitdesigns.com/ did my cover. She did bookmarks for me for Lady of the Dead and I fell in love with her work. I did not really help much, I told her about wanting wolf / Human eyes on the cover and I gave her the blurb on the back. But that was it. She did that amazing cover pretty much without me.

 

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?
I learned that I am not so good with the self-imposed deadlines an Indie Author has to create for themselves. I am just way to easily distracted. I learned that I really need to work on that.

 

If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?
I do not think I would want to be any. Most of the characters in this book were basically poisoned. I don’t think I would want to be in that position.

 

Are there any books you think some of us should read, just because?
Maybe it is because I am really craving them but I would say Simon R Green’s Nightside series. The level of absurd things that he makes plausible and the great humor make his books all around winners for me.

 

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
I hope you enjoy Berman’s Wolves! Thank you for joining me in these crazy worlds I create! I am grateful for your kind words and support. I look forward to giving you many more worlds to dive into.

 

Thank you so much for visiting with us! I hope we can do it again!! 

 


About the Author:
 
Gretchen happily lives in Seattle, Washington where she spends her time creating new characters and situations to put them in. She also enjoys cheering on her local sports teams, even though it sometimes seems they are allergic to winning.
 
Gretchen has spent most of her life in Washington state. She graduated from Central Washington University with a BA in History and a BA in Philosophy. Though there was a brief stint after college where she lived in Florida and worked for the mouse (Disney World). She loves that Washington provides a large range of activities, from Shakespeare in the park to rodeos.
 
She has had a love of reading and telling stories as far back as she, or anyone else, can remember.  Currently, she loves to read the same genres she writes. She also loves exploring her home state. At the end of her adventures she unwinds by curling up on the couch, knitting while catching up TV shows via Netflix.
 
http://www.gretchensb.com/
 
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7398184.Gretchen_S_B_
 
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Gretchen-S-B/540293959350712
 
https://twitter.com/GretchenSB

I hope you guys check this one out!! I wanna thank the author for stopping by today! I loved your interview answers! And to the wonderful ladies of Bewitching Book Tours! Happy reading and later gators!! 🙂

One thought on “Berman’s Wolves Blog Tour!

  1. Gretchen says:

    Thank you for having me!

What do you have to say?

