Divine Vices Spotlight and Review!

Hello everyone! Today I have a new book to share with you by a lovely author who contacted me. She so politely asked me if I’d be interested in reading her new book. I’m definitely glad I said yes. I think you guys will love it as much as I did!! So Let me show you some goodies!!

  Divine Vices (Divine Vices, #1)

Danger seldom leaves its victims unscathed in the ways of seduction, and this lesson is one that sixteen-year-old Cassie Foster now knows all too well. Nine months following the traumatic accident that claimed the life of her mother and sister, this high school junior has at last found a fresh start in the quiet town of New Haven, Maine. In the company of her best friends, Ian and Gwen, she’s bracing the usual turmoil of adolescence and taking all in stride… until the new transfer student, Jackson Matthews, comes walking into her life. He’s arrogant, sarcastic, roguish, devastatingly sexy, and the very last thing Cassie wants to entertain. But when circumstances drive these two together, she finds herself a bit too close for comfort as their bond intensifies. Plagued by unexplainable events, a sudden string of disappearances, and even a cult-related murder, Cassie begins to fear for her life. Is it all just a coincidence that these happenings began when this Casanova strolled into town, or has she in fact fallen for a real lady-killer, or worse?”
 
 Buy Link: 
My
MY Review:
Ok, well I am so glad I read this one. There are lots of surprises, and there’s always the hawt bad boy, BUT what if there really is a chance for the kind hawt best guy friend too. 🙂 One of the reasons I loved this one is because though it has it’s Twilight references, it’s not like Twilight. It’s also written by someone different and the writing style was just awesome.
Let me just say that I LOVE a particular series, *cough* Mercy *Cough* by Shannon Dermott, and Mercy talks with big words because she is smart, and she has that damn word a day calendar. Well, Cassie doesn’t need the calendar and I kinda like that about her. It’s a little refreshing that not all girls seem like air heads as teenagers. I wasn’t an airhead, and had a big vocabulary, so why can’t others. SO, I like Cassie. I felt a little bad for her, but I am totally ON BOARD with the Team she chooses between those two hunks! AND I’m terrified for her. There is so much coming and that ending was a little whammy. 🙂 Note the spoiler alert, it’s not a bad cliff hanger, because there is some wrappage, yes I made that word up too, but not everything got wrapped pretty in a bow, which made me say holy **** because I know the ish is about to hit the fan! 
Those hawt boys are something. When you learn what Jack is, you may be surprised, and you’ll even be more surprised to learn about Ian. I still am not sure about what exactly Ian is. BUT I KNOW that this little start of a triangle ended and she has chosen and it’s a GOOD choice. I cheered. YES!!!! 🙂 So, don’t freak out if you don’t like love triangles, there really won’t be one, just some decisions that needed to be thought through. AND besides, a little extra attention is good for a lady LOL Jack is my trickster. He likes to make jokes, doesn’t take things seriously, and has the whole HAWT mysterious vibe. He does it damn good too! Ian is your best friend, who help your hand when you needed it the most, and still supports you when you make bad decisions, and he has his own eclectic style. I like them both for different reasons. 🙂 
Plot line and story of the book is fantastic. You spend a whole lot of time trying to figure out what the hell is really going on, that you read through the book nonstop. It’s definitely a suspenseful page turner. AND you’ll never guess who the bad guy is. Seriously, I thought I had it like three different times and I was still wrong! HA! I loved that. And there’s some great side characters too, like her BFF Gwen, who just cracks me up. I happen to love her character. I enjoyed the writing style, I also enjoyed the fact that I know what to look forward to in the next book but still don’t have all the answers. OOOOH…. So, now GIMME GIMME book two! LOL 5 MAGICAL PAWS… because there’s magic and I totally don’t want to spoil the supernatural beings in here for you! 
paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainAbout
About the Authorthe Author:

Melissa Parkin

True solace for this Chicagoland native is no further than a minute’s walk away from her, right to the keyboard. Having always been blessed/cursed with an overactive imagination, she’s constantly encouraging her predisposition with late night writing fits fueled by her mild Dr. Pepper addiction. A connoisseur of music, movies, and literature, Melissa is always finding inspiration in everything around her. When she’s not diving into the depths of her mind’s eye, you will undoubtedly find her with a book, a camera, her iPod, or a can of Dr. Pepper in hand.

website: http://melissaparkinsblog.blogspot.com/

I really want to thank Ms M for letting me read this one. I truly hope we can do it again soon with book two!! Also I am going to leave you with one last thing. The author on her website has a PLAYLIST that is broken down by CHAPTERS and holy shit…. it’s so worth checking it out!! So, I read the book before I learned that, but then I read why she picked what she did and then went back and checked each with the song and WOW!!!! Just WOW!!! AND her song choices are just fantastic, so if you wanna check out this very cool playlist, I will leave the link below. Happy reading and later gators!! 
One thought on “Divine Vices Spotlight and Review!

  1. Erma says:

    Yes! Finally someone writes about information.

What do you have to say?

