Valens Remembered Blog Tour w Giveaway!

Valens Remembered Button 300 x 225Hello everyone! I am so excited to share some new goodies with you. I found a very fun new series that I am now totally gunna stalk for new books. 🙂 It’s got so many cool supernatural creatures in here, as well as some fun action, and a great mystery to solve. 🙂 Now, let me show you some goodies!! 

Valens Remembered, A Paranormal Fantasy Romance (Book 1, The Valens of Legacy Series)

Valens Remembered, The Story Begins

Valens of Legacy,  Book 1

Sherrel Lee

Genre:  Paranormal Fantasy Romance

ISBN: 9780985249687

ASIN:  B00CSTZSE4

Number of pages: 92

Word Count: 26,324

Book Description:  

Do you love reading about ShapeShifters? Psychics? Genetically Engineered Monsters?

Get your free copy of Book One of the Valens of Legacy series now. *I’ll post that link below*

As Larinda Nix Thomas buries her adoptive parents, who died in a deadly echo of the accident that took her birth parents, hidden documents reveal that she is being threatened by a sinister force and that she shouldn’t trust even her closest allies. Fate demands she accept her place among the Valens as a shapeshifter, a unicorn, which brings more changes to her life than she could have imagined and puts her on a collision course with her ultimate destiny. In this first book of the Valens of Legacy series myth is rewritten, fantasy and science fiction blend to create a chilling story of death, loss, and discovery.

Struggling to make a life for herself on the streets of Seattle, Washington–Jemma a, runaway is battling to stay safe and unmolested, find legitimate work, and secure an education. Concerned social workers search for her and other runaways to return them to the lives they escaped from. True friends are few and life has made it hard to trust anyone. The memory of loving family no longer exists.

Meet the women who can’t remember their past. Discover their stories. Begin the journey into the world of the Valens of Legacy.

Available at Amazon and BN

Excerpt 1:

Larinda

Larinda Nix Thomas watched, eyes filled with tears, as her parents’ coffins were lowered into the ground.  The rain took no pity on the mourners who had gathered.  It blew in past the edges of the tent, dousing everyone who had come to say their last goodbyes. 

Grant Mayfair and Griffin Hawke, senior executives with Legacy Protection Services and personal friends of Larinda’s family, stood sentinel beside her.  Larinda struggled to hide how much she blamed them for her loss.  Legacy, and all the resources at their disposal, hadn’t protected her adoptive parents.  Grant and Griffin hadn’t been there to safeguard Boyd and Fiona, and now she was forced to stand beside their graves. 

Larinda hugged herself, stroking her shoulder where the mark that resembled a unicorn was hidden under her jacket.  Today the comforting habit didn’t work. 

Grant reached out and drew her hand into his.  “I know you’re hurting,” he murmured.  “It’s so difficult to lose those you love to a senseless accident.”  He gave her hand a squeeze and raised it toward the numerous friends, employees, and customers who had come to share her grief—and whose safety and livelihoods depended on the company her parents had built.  “You can trust that I’ll be here for you,” Grant said.  “Help take some of the burden off your shoulders.”  

Reclaiming her hand, she gave Grant a weak smile.  It didn’t last long.

Senseless accident?  Or something far worse?  The thought swirled through Larinda’s mind.

Ambassador Magellan came forward to shake her hand.  “Larinda, please forgive me.  I have duties to address, but I had to let you know Legacy’s services are not in jeopardy because of your loss.  I’m sure Mr. Hawke is very capable of stepping in until you are better prepared for such vast responsibilities.”

Larinda stared blankly at the politician as he walked away.  Step aside?  I know I’m not completely prepared for this, but—just let Hawke take over?  Looking at the faces of the men and women who gathered to comfort her, she suddenly wondered how many of them expected the same thing. 

Her parents had carefully groomed her in preparation for the day she would take control of Legacy.  She had been immersed in Valens culture and schooled in the obligations she would inherit from the day she had become a member of the family.  Even at that young age, she’d understood that their pride and high standards were the reason for the success of the two-hundred-year-old company.  Boyd’s parents had established the global enterprise and built it into a world-renowned security firm celebrated for protecting presidents and kings.

They had depended on her to carry on when they were gone.  She was a Thomas, even if not by birth, and as long as her family survived, they would remain in control of Legacy.  It was the least she owed the people who had given her so much. 

My Review:

So this is the prequel of the series. It tells you how things began and it’s Larinda’s story. You will learn how she felt and what really happened to her, and why she was looking so hard for her sister. You also get to see some of the other characters that will play a major part in this series and get a feel for who they are and what they stand for. It’s a great addition, and having read this story first, before reading the actual first book in the series, this made reading the first book a whole lot more understandable, from an emotional part. Now you don’t have to read it, but it’ll make you care for those in the story even more than if you would have read just the regular novels. It’s got everything you could ask for, a background on them, and the world building, the relationships between them, action, mystery, death. Yeah that was the hard part for me, as I know what the author told me prior to reading and I am still hoping she finds a way to resurrect that certain someone. 🙂 I also learned a little bit about the bad guys before the story started. 🙂 It’s cool how she did it, coming up with the plan for how the bad guys got their hands on things and began this whole scary thing. To be honest, I loved this story, even if it is a short one, and after reading the first novel, I’m so glad I read it. It’s definitely a good thing she wrote it 🙂 5 PAWS, all kinds of paws cuz there’s a ton of fun things in here! 😉 

paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

Valens Rise (The Valens of Legacy , #1)

Excerpt 2– Valens Rise

Book Two

Chapter One

First Week in November

Jemma slipped the hood of her jacket over her hair and crept onto the night-darkened porch. Crouching low, she checked the rain-swept city street for her pursuers. All seemed quiet. She straightened up, readying herself to make a run for it.

As soon as she moved, a man burst out of the shadows of the next building. Gilbert—the man who had tried to abduct her just a few days ago. He ran toward her, calling over his shoulder, “She’s here!”

Behind him, three six-foot-long, DNA-altered snakes slithered down the sidewalk. Adrenaline surged through Jemma and she jumped off the porch, dodging her attacker, who lunged forward to grab her. She pulled her arm in close to her body and spun to her left, barely eluding him. She caught a glimpse of the snakes’ white, human faces just behind him—like demon children from a horror film. The fear of their poisoned fangs pushed her onward, heart pumping.

She dashed down the street and around the corner, realizing her mistake too late. She’d turned down an alley—one with no exit at the far end. She was trapped.

Gilbert appeared at the mouth of the alley, the snake creatures close behind. Desperate, Jemma scooped up an empty liquor bottle lying on the ground and threw it at him. Her aim was off and it went low, catching him in the shins and tangling his legs. He stumbled and fell hard onto the rain-drenched pavement.

Jemma ran further down the alley, looking for a door, a fire escape—anything. All she saw were two padlocked doors. She turned to face her attackers. The snakes were gliding toward Gilbert’s prone body. With terrifying swiftness, they struck, burying their fangs in his face and neck.

The man rolled and twisted in pain, his mouth open in a silent scream. Jemma, frozen in shock, watched the venom’s swift course through his body. The major muscle groups contracted violently in turn, forcing his arms and legs into unnatural positions. The creatures drew back and studied Gilbert’s tortured thrashing with the intensity of children observing a pinned bug, and then glided away.

The poison finally reached Gilbert’s lungs, stealing his breath. She watched in horror as foam bubbled from his nose and mouth.

Jemma wrenched her gaze from the horrific sight. Standing at the open end of the alley was her former teacher, watching Gilbert’s death throes with avid pleasure, his evil pets writhing and circling at his feet. He raised his eyes to hers, and a slow smile spread across his face.

She was next.

My Review:

So what happens when you find out that you’re not an orphan, but you had a family that was killed and still had people looking for you. An important family. And the people you’ve trusted for a long time aren’t all that trustworthy. Oh and you’re new family is out of their minds because they believe in the supernatural. 🙂 LOL Yep that’s the story and it’s a great one. It has a ton of good things going on, like action, and mystery, and romance, and friendship, and teamwork, and best of all, some totally hawt guys LOL 🙂 

So, Jemma is our main character for this one. She’s been in HORRIBLE and I mean HORRIBLE foster homes, and then she ran away and wouldn’t trust anyone, ever. She always took care of herself, but living on the streets in hard. So, when an offer to work with some research scientists came up, she took the opportunity. And then, once she finally settled in, a lawyer tells her that she had family, who had been searching for her for a long time, and they left her things. A LOT of things. Like a butt load of money, businesses, cool house, and she doesn’t believe a word of it. A lot of her time is spent being so suspicious of everyone that she forgot to be suspicious of the others. But anyways. I like her. She’s strong, and capable, and definitely independent, but she’s also loyal and loving, and even forgiving- which is hard to believe after everything that happened to her. And then of course there’s Griffin Hawke, who somehow blew up all the walls she built around herself. They really do have an interesting relationship. 🙂 

Griffin Hawke, aka Hawke, has been running the security business in place of Larinda until Jemma can be found. Then she’s found and she really doesn’t want anything to do with all of it. But he’s persistant, and patient, and teaches her everything. Including about the Valens, which she doesn’t believe, and when proof almost eats her, she almost loses her mind. But he’s always around to catch her. I like him. He’s strong and alpha, yet he doesn’t want to stand over her or around her, he wants to stand beside her. He’s a cool supe too. Not too many of him around 🙂 Plus he heads all the teams, which have some great characters that add to this book. And even though some are lost, yes I cried because I really liked that person too! I know that there’s going to be more greatness to come because somebody has to get all the bad guys! And speaking of bad guys, you almost wanna believe they are good, and doing it for the right reasons, but boy oh boy are you in for a surprising shock. It’s crazy, and I am still a little tongue tied as to all of it. And I need some revenge, really bad! LOL

The world building is excellent. They are still trying to keep humans from finding out, but they are hiding in plain sight. There’s some humans, like upper military, who know about them, but it’s still very secret. And the relationships and team work built into the story will make you cheer. As to the plot lines, it’s definitely one for the books, because I am totally freaked out about snakes now LOL. Read it and you’ll understand. As well as the writing, it’s so easy to read, and flows so well. I was hooked and I can’t wait to get my hands on the next installment. 🙂 And those betrayals, will they be answered for, and will the bad guys get what’s coming to them… I sure do hope so!!! 🙂 5 WINGS, CLAWS, AND PAWS 🙂 
paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

Author Interview

First, tell me a little about your book :)…. 

Valens Rise, which is the book I am promoting on this tour, is Book 2 in the Valens of Legacy Series and was actually the first book written.  Later, after I had a few readers ask me about Jemma’s sister who left her estate to the sister she had never met, I wrote the free book Valens Remembered which became Book 1 (and has caused several people to think I was terrible for killing Larinda – resulting in mixed feeling among – unhappy reviewers.)

I don’t want to repeat the descriptions posted at Amazon and Barnes and  Noble here so I would say this and hope it will entice the readers her to all get book one Valens Remembered and they want to read the Valens of Legacy Series.  

Valens Rise is the story that a tells the story of a young lost girl, thrown into a world she doesn’t believe in and how she has to learn to trust those around her and believe in herself to overcome the challenges presented by a deadly group of demon makers.   

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

I think I always knew I wanted to write – I wrote poetry, diaries, stories, and couldn’t get my hands on enough books.  I love to read to I had to write.

What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

My very first book was to be the Trials and Tribulations of the Teenage Girl – an expose on how badly we were treated.  We had to go to school, had to make decent grades and had to do what our parents and teachers told us to do.  Unfortunately or perhaps very fortunately my mother threw out the first draft because she thought I was silly – all the pages in my wire bound, lined notebook were full of what she thought of were just a worthless waste of paper.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Other than living in or traveling to some of the locations I never was able to shape shift or fly or do any of the things that my characters do.  I don’t know anyone who has been a foster child and have a hard time believing anyone as evil as the foster parents in my story exists in reality.  I have seen runaways on the streets of Seattle but never knew anyone who ran away from home.  So I guess I would have to say no, the books are not based on experience. 

How do you choose when/which characters die in your books?

I know it seems a bit odd, but I think I have a director to the movie in my head that tells me I have to kill off one of the characters.  I never started a book and knew who was going to end up dead.  Some of the deaths have shaken me enough I just couldn’t believe this or that character died.

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I love the stories by Hadley Holt.  She writes a series of young adult books and just release her first set in a three book serial form–Desecration the first in her Warrior Queen at Sixteen is wonderful.  I love her settings, her characters and the way her characters interact.  You have wizards, shape shifters, betrayal and so much in this first set, I can hardly wait for the next to come out.

Who do you look up to as a writer?

I belong to an amazing writing organization, the Dallas Area Romance Authors, which is a chapter of the Romance Writers of America.  The chapter and main organization are filled with the most amazing writers including Nora Roberts, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Lilliana Hat and so many more, every one of them are sharing their knowledge their stories of rejection and the secrets of writing.    The biggest secret – and don’t tell anyone I told you – appears to be sit down and WRITE.

But the men and woman in my local chapter are awesome as well.  They encourage you, celebrate your successes, challenge you to do better and not to give up when you think you failed and became the best friends anyone could have.  There are people on the New York Times Best Sellers List and people who are just beginning to start their careers and I can’t stress how much I love being part of all of this.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

There are two things I would change.  First I would have made Valens Remembered – my free Book 1 of the series the 2nd book in the series.  Now, don’t read any more of this answer if you don’t want to see the spoiler – Jemma, my main heroine of the Valens of Legacy series inherits the estate of her sister – which creates the Rise (or re-emergence) of the Valens.  In Valens Remembered, in order for Jemma to take her place in the Valens world, her sister Larinda has to die.  I wrote Valens Remembered after my then second book, Valens Revenge.  And since Jemma’s sister had died in Rise I couldn’t at that point reanimate her – if only I had some zombies in my books!

The other thing I would change is Misty’s name.  My fingers refuse to let me type Misty for some reason and I am continually going back and having to edit it.  I think Misty really wants to be Mistry than she is pouting because I didn’t give her that name and she takes over my fingers when I’m typing.  Perhaps someday the movie director will give her a boyfriend who calls her Mistry and she’ll be happy – we’ll just have to wait to find out if that happens.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I admit after I wrote my first book I wondered if I had anything else to write about and apparently I did since I just release Book 5, Valens Rebel this month.  Then I thought I would have to end the series on a Book 6 or 7, but when I looked at all the strings to be tied up – well just let me say there will be at least a Book 8 and 9. 

You might wonder why I would think I need to end the series and I think it has to do with the publishing industries three book rules.  Although I publish independently, those friends I have who get publishing contracts, always get a three book contract.  It appears they think the readers will only by three or four books from a series.  What do you think?

What book are you reading now? Or what genre?

At this moment I am reading a James Patters Women’s Murder Club mystery.  Two days ago it was a Heather Graham, Krew of Hunters paranormal, I will read Brandon Sanderson’s Words of Radiance, a fantasy novel but I have been known to read two or three books at a time so who knows for sure.  If Michal J. Sullivan or Jim Butcher or Hadley Holt has something new out there I’ll have to have those as well – my queue of waiting to be read books is growing daily.

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

The original background for my covers was done by an artist in the Philippines, who was affected by the earth quake there and was unable to continue the work.  A publicist helped me with the next three covers and now I finally have my own designer who has done the cover for Valens Remembered.  Erin is the owner of EDH Graphics which can be found at http://edhgraphics.blogspot.com/.  She is amazing and of course I gave her a really tough challenge for the first cover in my series – a centaur whose lower body is a black horse on a black background.  She Rocked It.

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

I learned that the writers that told me just to sit down and write were correct.  I did get better and I think with each book I have increase the story telling abilities.  At least I hope so, I want my readers to love each book and continue to want to see the story unfold.  I also learned you have to do what’s right for you.  I pursued the publishing industry dream but was told my stories had no market.  My readers have proved that to be very wrong.

If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

That is one of the hardest questions I get asked.  I love every one of the characters in the story, even the evil Astrid Van Horn and Horace Gruen. 

Are there any books you think some of us should read, just because?

Two series of books remain in my heart though I read them quite some time ago.  They are considered pure fantasy rather than romantic fantasy but both have an awesome love story in the.  They are Jim Butchers’ Codex Alera Series and Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn series.  I fell in love with the characters, the feeling of living among them in their worlds, and I have to say I determined I want to be able to do what these writers do – make the world so real you can touch it, feel it and even smell it. 

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I am so thankful for everyone who has read my books.  Without getting to sloppy sentimental I also love the critiques I have been given – I take them to heart and try to make each of the stories better – and if as on occasion has happened, there is a glaring error in my writing – I have been known to go in and correct it immediately in the eBook and print on demand versions (that’s one of the pleasures of being and indie author in the new world of publishing).

Well I am thankful that you gave me good books to read, so keep up the good work. As to the series thing, I will buy AS MANY book in a series as there is. I am still reading all the Anita Blake’s… she’s in the 20’s now, lol and I am terribly sad that Kim harrison is ending her Rachel Morgan series *sad face!* but I just like series. I like when it continues, as long as there’s a good story to go behind it 🙂 THANK YOU so much for stopping by to share with us! Hopefully we can do it again soon!!!

About the Author:

 author

Wrangler of a fearsome Yorkiepoo named Rogue (Half Yorkie half Poodle weighing in at a hefty five pounds). Obsession controlled writer with a passion for making up names and twisting myths. 

 Sherrel, as the daughter of an Emmy winning cameraman, learned early in life the dark secrets of creating all those incredible fantasy characters for the large and small screen.

 Refusing to be crushed at the discovery the monsters, aliens, and Robby the Robot weren’t real, Sherrel’s imagination soared. She became a SELF-proclaimed voyeur of special-effects and expert at fictional character creation.

Website: http://sherrellee.com/

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/Sherrellee.valens

Amazon: http://ow.ly/liYNS

Twitter:  @gryphoenix

Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5763208.Sherrel_Lee

StoryFinds: http://storyfinds.com/author/8166/sherrel-lee 

Here’s also a little list of her faves!! 🙂 

Top Ten Shapeshifters

Sirius Black (Padfoot) Harry Potter

LadyHawke from the movie

Gigul – Jaye Wells Books

Beast – Faith Hunter books

Mercy Thomas – Patricia Briggs Books

Josh and Nora – Being Human – Television show

Elena – Bitten by Kelly Armstrong

Black Dagger Brotherhood – J. R. Ward

Dark Hunter – Sherrilyn Kenyon

Jacob  – Twilight

Tour giveaway:

5 ebook copies of Valens Rise, Book 2, The Valens of Legacy Series – Electronic format of choice (US, Canada and international)

5 prize packs open to US Shipping Only- Each prize pack contains -1 Paperback of Valens Remembered, The Story Begins , Book 1 of the Valens of Legacy Series; 1 Paperback of Valens Rise, Book 2, the Valens of Legacy Series; Valens Remembered lined note book; Bookmark; Coupon for Valens Rise from Smashwords; Key-chain with image of a Phoenix

Rafflecopter
a Rafflecopter giveaway

AND Valens Remembered is FREE HERE!!!!

Valens Revenge (Book 2)

And….

Book Trailer – Valens Rebel, Book 5.  Just released, June 1.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8GVHA2YBJFI

Excerpt – Valens Rebel, Book 5

Prologue

Miranda crept through the dark palazzo toward the bedroom where Giovanni Belledini slept as though he were already dead.  He wasn’t her primary target, but he would have to suffice tonight.  His death would start the endgame and with any luck, the bitch scientist he was supervising would get the blame.  When they saw Belledini dissected like a specimen, she’d be the obvious suspect.  But before Belledini died, Miranda had a few questions for him.  Where was the Blood Map?  How had it been created?  How many people were aware of how powerful it still was?  If she could locate the Blood Map and bring it to her grandfather, his creations—the Humani—would become the most powerful weapons in an arsenal of monstrous killers. 

Miranda reached Belledini’s bedroom and slipped inside, silent as a shadow.  Her unsuspecting target was snoring loud enough to have shaken walls in most other residences, but the walls of the palazzo were a foot thick and had withstood war, natural disasters, and bloodbaths without revealing the screams and secrets they had witnessed through the centuries. 

 

Miranda sat on the edge of the oversized bed, running her hand across the expensive duvet and sliding it under the downy pillows.  She had always loved Italy, with its secret societies that had existed since memory began.  The country had been part of her life for over a hundred years.  The feuds between the powerful families and the inventive methods they used to torture and kill their enemies were endlessly fascinating.  She had learned so much from these masters, but Belledini wasn’t a master of anything.  He was a low-level, dull-witted dupe who would change loyalties at the drop of two lire.  It insulted her that he had been entrusted with the secret to the Blood Map she sought.  He wasn’t worth wasting funds to try to bribe him.  However, it pleased her greatly to plan all the ways he would suffer while she encouraged him to tell her everything he knew.

The mattress shifted and Giovanni woke with a start, shocked to see Miranda so close.  “Who are you?  How did you get in?”  He shouted.

Miranda bared her teeth in a threatening smile.  “Mr. Belledini, I’m surprised you are so shocked to find a woman on your bed.  Your reputation had me expecting a much more enthusiastic welcome.”

Belledini sat up, shifting away from her, his eyes narrowed to angry slits.  “Again, who are you?  What do you want?” he demanded, his hand slipping under the pillow beside him.

Miranda laughed at the sight of his shocked face when he came up empty-handed.  “Do you think I would be foolish enough to leave your pathetic little toy where you can reach it so easily?  I am so disappointed.  I had hoped the stories of your half-wit antics had been exaggerated.”  Miranda gave a heavy sigh.  “I see we are not going to be friends, so I guess it’s time to go to work.  Tell me, Giovanni, where is the Blood Map?”

Belledini glowered at her.  Then, without warning, he threw the covers off his naked body and tossed them at Miranda.  While she fought her way out from under them, he leaped off the bed and ran toward the bathroom.

Miranda fired through the duvet, the bullet striking the floor in front of Belledini’s foot.  He came to an abrupt stop.  She tossed the torn duvet to the floor.  “Not a weapon of my choosing,” she said, nodding at the gun in her hand.  “I much prefer a knife for close work, but the gun is effective when people think they can run away.  Now, turn around and come here.  I think we have things to discuss.”  She shook her head as she watched him stumble toward her on hairy feet, his stomach juddering with each step.  Miranda directed Belledini to pull one of the straight-backed chairs from beside the fireplace into the middle of the room.  “Now.  Sit down.  I am going to give you one more opportunity to tell me where the Blood Map is before I bind you to the chair.  I love helping people tell me what I want to know, but I try to be a fair and compassionate person.”

Belledini dropped heavily into the chair, staring through her.  “I do not know what this Blood Map is.  You have been misinformed.  I can tell you nothing.”

Miranda pulled a roll of duct tape from the small pack she carried at her waist and tossed it to him.  “Bind your legs to the chair,” she said.  “Tightly.”  He hesitated, but she gestured impatiently with the gun, and he began to bind his thick legs to those of the antique chair.  It was a pity—such a beautiful piece of furniture, and it would be blood-soaked when she had finished her task.  Perhaps his heirs would find a way to restore it.  Otherwise they would have to replace the pair.  

When he finished, she instructed him to roll the tape back to her.  She moved behind him and began to wrap his chest and arms with the remainder of the tape.  She couldn’t wait for the sweet music of his screams.

I do look forward to reading all of these books 🙂 A big thanks to the author for stopping by and to bewitching book tours who always helps me to give you goodies!! And I want to wish you all good luck on the giveaway! And as always happy reading and later gators!! 

5 thoughts on “Valens Remembered Blog Tour w Giveaway!

  1. Hadley Holt says:

    Thanks so much for the mention Sherrel Lee! I think we may have the same favorite shape-shifters! Congratulations on your terrific reviews from the fabulous Maghon Thomas (Maghon, I’m sad about Rachel Morgan too). These are great books and I can’t wait for the next. I’m also going to enter your contest – those are some great give-aways!! Hadley

  2. Nobody does dark intrigue like Sherrel Lee!!!

  3. This is the first I have heard of the author but super excited. Love finding new great authors and series.

  4. bn100 says:

    Nice interview

  5. Catherine T. says:

    Excited to sart this series – thanks! 🙂

What do you have to say?

