Divine Scales Review w/ A Giveaway!

So today, I have a favorite series that has a new book out, and the absolutely wonderful author just is so sweet and gave me a copy to read so I could share it with you guys!! 🙂 You’ve seen the first three books and now it’s time for the fourth!! Let me show you! 

Divine Scales (Blood Prince, #4)

Divine Scales (Blood Prince #4)

by Jennifer Blackstream (Goodreads Author)
214 pages
Published June 30th 2014 by Skeleton Key Publishing
ASIN  B00LF5789U
Marcela is a mermaid who takes her duties as a daughter of Triton seriously. Like all of her siblings, she takes her turn with every duty rotation – including saving the lives of sailors when a ship comes under distress. Never has she been distracted from her responsibilities, never has she stopped to dream a little dream for herself. When Prince Patricio, the angelic Prince of Meropis, is sent careening into the stormy sea, Marcela’s world is turned upside-down – literally.
Patricio is an angel beset by a curse. Charged with a god-given duty to bring sinners to justice, his magic-imbued sword sends his victims to the next life with clean souls – and leaves the sinner’s family struck with a glamour that leaves them falling over themselves to thank their loved ones’ executioner. When his interest in piqued by a mermaid that saves his life, he is disgusted to find her affection for him intense, sudden, and blind – a result of his curse, not true attraction. He’s determined to have nothing more to do with her. Until he finds himself saving the mermaid…from drowning. With glamour following him around like a cloud, it’s difficult for an angel to be sure what’s real. A mermaid with legs and no voice. A hamadryad with a prophecy. A witch with a chip on her shoulder. The world is full of magic and mayhem and for an angel and a mermaid, it will take more than a kiss to balance… the Divine Scales.
My Review
I just freaking love this series!! So, think the Little Mermain, but scarier, meets her Prince Charming, who isn’t so Charming…. I LOVED IT!!! AND to top it off, The Little Mermaid was my favorite childhood movie–WAIT it’s STILL one of my all time favorite movies! I STILL watch it all the time!! I know all the words and can sing (maybe not so good) all the songs! 🙂 Yep, so I loved this take on it! Seriously, Marcela may have just become my favorite lady from this series, but Etienne still has my heart hahahaha 🙂 
So Marcela is our little mermain, except she’s a warrior, and strong willed, and a little bit of a force lol and then she falls under the Curse of our Prince Patrico. Umm, but she doesn’t know about his little curse, and he is all but becoming infatuated with her as well. But I can’t tell you too much because I think it would ruin it for you. 🙂 So, Marcela saves Pat, yep I called him P-squared as my nickname for him, because Prince Patrico was also Mr square pants and it took forever for Marcela to get him to relax a little bit. I know, me and my nicknames LOL. But anyways, Marcela’s story is a good bit like the little mermaid, but with some slight more adult instances, and I’m not talking sex. She has much more to deal with because she’s an adult, and sometimes the really hard parts have to come before a HEA. 
Mr. P-squared made me want to slap him. I’ve wanted to slap him for a long time now, in just the small parts of the first three books. He’s definitely got his work cut out for him with Marcela. AND then she gets under his skin, and then his frien-emy, aka our lovely Demon who is one of my favorites, opens his eyes and helps him with her. This is Pat’s ground breaking moment. I started to like him. And then I loved him by the end. He has become worthy of my little mermaid! And they finally get a romance worthy of such awesome characters!! 
Now let’s talk plot. If you’ve read any of the first three books, you’ll know there’s a little divine intervention going on with these lovely Princes. They need their mates to follow their destinies. And there’s a little goddess helping that along. BUT that’s the background plot, which I love! The main plot is to figure out a way to not only break Pat’s curse, keep Marcela from dying, or worse, and of course to work for a Happily ever after. And I won’t tell you about the other secrets, you have to read to find out. But I really really really can’t wait for the next one!! I have a feeling it’s going to be EPIC!! Plus I am DYING to know what that little goddess has been up to with all of these events and what they are leading to. OH BOY I’m like a little kid in a candy store thinking about it! So my advice, read this series. Just do it, it’s awesome!! 🙂 And since my wolves have PAWS, I’m going to make the exception today and say 5 MAJESTIC, MAGNIFICENT, MAGICAL FINS!! 🙂 
paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main
Other Books of the Series
Golden Stair (Blood Prince, #3)

Golden Stair (Blood Prince #3)

Rosemary has lived in a tower, locked away from the rest of the world, for her entire life. Her mother, a witch who leads the resistance against the bloodthirsty kings of the five kingdoms, is her only company. Rosemary knows that her battle-weary mother relies on the golden power flowing through her veins for the energy to continue the good fight, but she can’t completely smother the selfish yearning to see the world beyond the safety of their hidden valley. When the demon prince of her mother’s horror stories literally crashes into Rosemary’s life, she finds herself facing her wildest dream…and her mother’s worst nightmare.Adonis is a demon determined to bury his desire for love in the pleasures of the flesh. Bound by a vow to maintain his physical form, Adonis requires a great deal of energy just to live, energy he can only absorb through the carnal arts…more energy than any one woman could ever provide. Adonis knows he could never offer a woman the fidelity she would deserve as his wife, and so carries on with his wild ways, his cryptic smile hidden behind a puff of smoke. No woman can reach beyond the heat of his embrace to touch his heart. Not even the golden haired maid whose lonely eyes keep wooing him back to her side. An incubus can only deny his nature for so long. Long golden hair. A tower with no stairs. A witch with serious possession issues. Debilitating blindness. None of these are enough to keep a demon from climbing…the Golden Stair.

One Bite (Blood Prince, #2)

One Bite (Blood Prince #2)

Irina is determined to continue her fight for freedom. Freedom for her from her evil sorceress stepmother, and freedom for every faction in the kingdom of Dacia. Unfortunately, her stepmother isn’t about to let that happen and she’s got a poisoned apple and a glass coffin with Irina’s name on them…

Kirill is a vampire prince determined to be a vampire king. Unfortunately, his vampiric father has no intentions of vacating the throne anytime soon and the prophecy Kirill found hinting at a “Great New Kingdom” is proving tricky to translate. It doesn’t help that the beautiful woman he found unconscious in the woods seems determined to undermine his authority at every turn. He’d kill her himself if she didn’t have the strangest gift for soothing his bloodthirsty spirit.

Even an undead mastermind can’t foresee everything. Seven dwarves. A poison apple. A glass coffin. It’s a strange and terrifying world when events can take a turn for the better or worse with just…One Bite.

My Review is HERE

Before Midnight (Blood Prince, #1)

 

Before Midnight (Blood Prince #1)

Loupe always dreamed of getting married. She yearned for a caring husband who would take her away from her servant-like existence at home with her stepmother and two stepsisters, a man who would love her forever. Those dreams ended the day she was bitten by a werewolf. Now she’s a mindless beast on the night of the full moon—a condition that forever prevents her from sharing a marriage bed. Not even the attentions of a handsome and endearingly strong prince can convince her that the life she wants is still possible.

Etienne is a prince in need of a werewolf. A werewolf himself from birth, Etienne and his family have protected their kingdom with tooth and claw—literally—for thousands of years. Unfortunately, the spell of a well-meaning witch is slowly turning him human. Only the bite of a cursed werewolf, one who was not born with the beast inside, can save him from becoming human. He has no time for anything that will not lead him to a cure for the curse. Not even the beautiful maiden whose gentle nature soothes his soul can take his mind from his goal.

Love cares little for the best laid plans or the impossible. A grand ball. The stroke of twelve. A magic “slipper.” All kinds of things can happen when you don’t leave the ball…Before Midnight

About the Author

Jennifer Blackstream

Jennifer Blackstream is a psychology enthusiast with both a B.A. and M.A. in Psychology. Her fascination with the human mind is most appeased through the study of mythology and folklore as well as all of Terry Pratchett’s novels. Jennifer enjoys listening to Alice Cooper, trying new recipes (to which she will add garlic whether it calls for it or not), watching television with her family, and playing with her woefully intelligent three year old son.  Jennifer spends most of her time drinking coffee from her X-Men mug and desperately trying to get all her ideas written down before her toddler can find that all magical button on her laptop to make all her work vanish.  If you would like to receive an alert when a new Jennifer Blackstream title is released or goes on sale, and also be automatically entered to win prizes in various contests, sign up for her mailing list atwww.jenniferblackstream.com

I wanna thank Ms Jennifer for letting me read these books! I have become a huge fan of this series! So, THANK YOU MS JEN!!! I hope you guys check it out. I will leave you with the little surprise and the links for the other books!

So here’s my surprise… last time I checked, BOOK ONE IS FREE ON AMAZON!!!!  HERE–>>>> http://www.amazon.com/Before-Midnight-Book-Blood-Prince-ebook/dp/B00DPYZZXA/ref=sr_1_4?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1392599488&sr=1-4&keywords=jennifer+blackstream

AND I’m gunna offer you book two, three, or four, winners choice for a giveaway!!

Since anyone can download book one free, I figured you’d like to have one of the next 🙂 It’s my way to contribute to the awesomeness of this series and since the author has so wonderfully given me the chance to read them 😉 Now leave me a comment below to enter! 

GOOD LUCK!! Happy reading and later gators!! 

3 thoughts on “Divine Scales Review w/ A Giveaway!

  1. bn100 says:

    These sound interesting

  2. Amanda T says:

    I saw this on amazon and debated adding to my kindle. I’ll have to do it now!

  3. Jenny says:

    I am so pleased you enjoyed Divine Scales 🙂 I’m working on book five now, and I will do my very best to make it epic 😉 Thank you for having me on your blog!

    Jenny

What do you have to say?

