Glimpse of Darkness Blog Tour w Giveaway!

Glimpse of Darkness Banner 851 x 315

Hello everyone! I have a new series starting today, and I’d like to share it with you. Fans of Angels will love this one, so let me tell you all about it! 

Glimpse of Darkness (Chronicles of the Cursed, #1)

Glimpse of Darkness

Volume 1: Chronicles of the Cursed

Nicole Delacroix

Genre: YA Paranormal/Fantasy

ISBN: 1497335930

ISBN: 978-1497335936

ASIN: B00JWUOMIU

Number of pages: 367

Word Count: 68183

Cover Artist: Javier Charro

Amazon   BN

Book Description:

Charlene (Charlie) Bennett is a simple waitress in the wilds of Hyder, Alaska whose father has just gone missing. Isolated and alone, her fathers’ disappearance is nothing new to her, but this time things are a little different.

For starters, there is a handsome stranger, Daniel that has come to town and while Charlie has never taken more than a passing interest in strangers, she has an immediate and intense attraction to this one. Secondly, she’s soon to find out that this stranger isn’t what he appears. He’s about to throw Charlie’s entire world into a major upheaval.

Now Charlie has to decide if she believes this strangers’ incredible story and follow Daniel or if she wants to stay in the only home she’s ever known for an uncertain future and an absentee father. As she comes to terms with what Daniel shows her, she realizes that he’s the only true thing in her life and leaves everything she knows behind to follow the handsome stranger.

My Review

So if you get moved to a remote place in Alaska, do you think you would fall in love with it. Well, Charlie wasn’t expecting to, but when her dad went missing, and she’s offered a way to leave a place she thought she used to hate, it’s taking a lot more that she thought it would to get her to leave. The police are searching for her dad, but he won’t likely be found, and not she knows secrets, about angels and things most humans don’t know. And Daniel stormed into town made it a little bit more crazy than being stuck in remote Alaska. Charlie is really drawn to him. She doesn’t understand this compulsion, and it’s a little terrifying for her. And then when Charlie finally decides to leave, it seems like all they are doing is running from the bad guy. And big heads up, there’s a big ole cliff hanger… You’re either gunna love that it’s setting up the next book for a lot of action, or you’re gunna go crazy lol.

Charlie is a little plain. She’s been in small town Alaska for a while now, she has a lot of questions about her childhood, and she isn’t close to her dad, who went missing. And then the whole storm Daniel blowing in made Charlie’s life a lot more complicated. Plus, Charlie is dying to know something, anything, about her mother, and she can’t get answers. But when she finally does, it’s a big whammy. So now, she’s on the run, trying to keep alive while figuring out the mysteries surrounding her.

Daniel is… different. He’s there to save innocents, their lives and Charlie’s. He’s definitely into Charlie as well, but I haven’t seen any real romantic emotion from either of them to each other, other than the fact of them saying to themselves, in their head.

The book is well written, but here’s my only complaint. I like a bit more action and fast paced scenery. It sets up the world and background great, but I still like a little more shooting, stabbing, biting, fire throwing, something lol, and so it made it just a little slow for me. But no worries, it seems like we’re going to be all set up with the end of the book to have some good action coming for the next book. So, I’ll wait for book two and give this one 4 PAWS!

paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

 

Author Interview

First, tell me a little about your book 🙂….

Glimpse of Darkness is book 1 of a planned 4 book series that will follow the main characters, Daniel and Charlie, all over the world in a search for her missing father and her missing birthright.  Without giving too much away, there will be twists and turns along the way as well as an alternative history to some interesting events in history.  I’ve flushed out the story from beginning to end long before I began working on the first book, so I know exactly what will happen in each volume of the series and I know where the story ultimately ends.  My only “up in the air” item is that I was toying with the idea of making it a trilogy instead of 4 full books, so the number of volumes may change, but the story remains the same.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

I started writing really young.  My father was military so we moved around a great deal, and making friends for me was difficult.  So my mother bought me a diary when I was 10 and I would scribble in it all the time. From that point on, I learned to live in my head and write everything down, so I guess I owe my mother for making me into a writer.

What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

I was having a streak of bad luck in my personal and professional life and started to escape more and more into books.  At that point I decided that I’d try my hand at writing, I’d always written when I was younger and it was a great stress relief for me.  I decided I’d try my hand at screenwriting (I know, what was I thinking?) and wrote a script called Supposed Crimes.  Nothing ever came of it, although I was on Triggerstreet.com for a while with it and got a few good reviews.  After a few people mentioned that the story itself didn’t really feel complete in script format, I decided to move over to novel writing.  Oddly enough, that story is still sitting on the back burner at this time.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Ha!  I wish, I’d love to be half angel, but I’m more like half devil… okay more than half.  But to answer your question, no I don’t think there was any one event in my own life that inspired the story.  I think I was just interested in angels and the way we view them and started thinking of how I could say what I wanted to in an entertaining way. 

How do you choose when/which characters die in your books?

So far I haven’t killed off any characters, but unless it adds something to the story, then I wouldn’t kill off a character.  I think we’ve all suffered at the hands of George R.R. Martin, so I try not to kill off a character if the story doesn’t warrant it.  I wouldn’t want someone to be too invested in a character only to have them die. 

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Yes!  I’m always looking for new and interesting authors to read.  Just a few lately, Jason Jones Voyages of the White Skull, Bev Stout Secrets of the Realm, and Sariah Wilson The Ugly Stepsister Strikes Back.  All three are really interesting new voices.

Who do you look up to as a writer?

J.R.R. Tolkien, J.K. Rowling, Stephen King, C.S. Lewis, Ian McEwan, Edward St. Aubyn – really anyone that has an interesting voice.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

  1. I think most writers will think their work can be better no matter where they are in the process. I would probably re-edit and possibly not drop the story off at the end even though there is a second one.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I did find the “adult” (sex) scene difficult to write, so I would say that had the biggest impact on me.  I don’t have a problem with scenes of that nature; truthfully, I read them all the time.   I just had never really written one as explicit as the one in this first book, so for me it was a little daunting at first.  Once I did a little research, read a few books on the subject I felt a little more equipped to tackle what I wanted in my own writing.  I would have thought that would have been the end of it, but the honesty and bravery I tapped into to write the scene has actually had an unexpected lingering effect on me.  I’ve become more honest and braver in my life over all, so I think it’s been incredibly beneficial.

What book are you reading now? Or what genre?

Currently I’m reading several books, mostly for review.  Slapshot of Love by Gary Pearson, The Haunting of Wolfe Haven by Debbie Heaton, The Birth of Death by Joseph Macolino and The Universe Builders by Steve LeBel.

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

I found a fantastic artist on deviantart.com by the name of Javier Charro (www.charroart.com) and he and I worked on the design for about a month.  I loved the way he worked because he asked for my ideas first, character information and a story synopsis.  From there he came up with rough sketches and showed me what his vision was based on my information.  The final cover ended up being so different from what I originally thought I wanted, but I think the sign of a good artist is someone that can take what you think you want and create what you need.  This is exactly what Javier did for me.  He created a beautiful work of art, and it was exactly what I needed, and I love it.  I learned from him that sometimes what you think you want isn’t want you need and you need to allow your artist to figure out what works best.

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

I spent about 7 months researching everything about the story and where I was going with it.  From that I learned a great deal about the legend of the Nephilim and fallen angels in general.  There is so much information out there about angels and legends that it can be overwhelming.  In addition to the factual information, I also learned how to be a little braver in my own life from pushing my writing boundaries. 

If you could be one of your characters, who would you chose?

I would love to be an angel.  Especially having the abilities that I give to my angels, that would be so much fun.  I think I’m a bit of an oddball, as I tend to like the periphery characters more than the main characters.  For me, my favorite character is a tie between Fifi and Mo, they are so very distinctly different characters and their backstories were the most interesting to write.

Are there any books you think some of us should read, just because?

Absolutely!  If you’re an Uber-geek like me, you will LOVE William Shakespeare’s Star Wars by Ian Doescher.  This is the entire series written like Shakespeare and it’s pretty epic.  I’m currently on William Shakespeare’s The Empire Striketh Back

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I would love to let my readers know that I wish them all well and hope that they enjoy the book!  Thank you so much for having me today!

Thank you for hanging out with us today and you are so welcome!! 🙂  

About the Author: 

 

Nicole Delacroix was born in Frankfurt Germany to a German mother and American Military father. Her parents instilled in her a deep love of the written word and a profound respect for literature in all forms. So it’s little wonder that from the moment she could first write she knew that writing would always be a part of who she is. From short stories to dabbling in scriptwriting she passes her time with her day job as an IT professional but feverishly writes well into the night. Her passion for literature encompasses many different genres but her heart beats true with fantasy and science fiction. She’s fiercely loyal to friends and family and is eagerly awaiting the day when she can move to London England, her childhood dream.

Web:  http://nicole-delacroix.com/

FB:  https://www.facebook.com/writer.nicoledelacroix

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/NicoleDelaCroix

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8177927.Nicole_Delacroix

Google+: https://plus.google.com/+NicoleDelacroix/posts

Tumblr:  http://nicoledelacroix.tumblr.com/

Tour giveaway

20140718_142449 20140718_142409

5 sets of signed paperback copies with beaded bookmarks

5 beaded bookmarks

Open to US Shipping
a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

I want to wish you all good luck on the giveaway! I hope you guys check this one out! Happy reading and later gators! 

One thought on “Glimpse of Darkness Blog Tour w Giveaway!

  1. Thank you so much for featuring me on your wonderful site and for the wonderful review! If anyone is interested in chatting or has a question, please feel free to ask, I’ll be available and will try to respond to everyone! Good luck everyone on the giveaway!

What do you have to say?

