Broken Flight Blog Tour w Giveaway

Broken Flight Tour

Broken Flight Cover

Broken Flight

(Angels of Punishment #1)

Anna James never planned on dying at age nineteen or ending up somewhere other than heaven. Five years later, her heart is still on Earth with her soulmate Grey, while the rest of her struggles to survive in Beyond. Not quite heaven and a lot like hell, Beyond is a proving ground where only the strongest souls are allowed to move on. With no way out, Anna keeps her head down and plays by the rules… Until she learns Grey is about to die.

Grey Wilson would give anything to go back and stop the accident that ripped Anna from his arms. But when Anna appears on Earth again, he quickly realizes things can never be as they were. Death and Beyond have changed her; brought out the dark side and dimmed her inner light. Before they can even revel in this semblance of a miracle, Grey and Anna find themselves in the middle of an angelic civil war where sabotage and danger lurk around every corner.

Anna’s dark side is exactly what Azrael – the leader of the Angels of Punishment – craves. When Azrael lays out his demands, Anna will have to make the biggest decision of her life.

Amazon – Barnes & Noble

My Review:

I will be the first to tell you I’m not really an “angel” fan. I usually steer clear, BUT, I read something a while back that took the creature of “angel” and totally changed the game. So, I wasn’t sure what to expect when I picked this one up… BUT, I’m pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed it. I happen to love the darker side, and this one is perfect. Heh, torture and death, and I jump right on that train 🙂 I know, what does this say about me hahahaha. Anywho, back to the story. I also really enjoyed the “new” concept of heaven and hell. 

There are some extremely interesting characters put into play here. Most of the names will be familiar if you’ve ever read anything with angels. There are some scary ones.  I think I am going to not tease you so much here. I know I’ve read angels before, and I usually hear the same old thing, and expect certain things from them, except you can throw that out the window here. Each character has their own personality here, and you can’t expect past readings about them to be so close. I loved that part 🙂 Except Anna, I will say that I happen to really like her. She’s not the most stable character, which is probably what makes her so interesting… That or the fact that maybe she isn’t so alive… It’s complicated LOL 

 I also am thrilled to say I really enjoyed the style of this author’s writing.  I am now a fan! It’s dark, it’s somewhat seedy, not to mention there’s loads of twisted drama! Who isn’t wanting to read that! I am now going to say, that maybe, just maybe, I am becoming a fan of angel books 🙂 ooooo, always a cool thing when a book turns a hater into a lover 🙂 Well done, Ms Rossi! 🙂 5 GRITTINGLY CREEPTASTIC PAWS! 

paw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw mainpaw main

Author Interview:

I just want to thank you again so much for taking the time to answer questions for my blog! 

Hi Maghon! Thank you so much for having me visit today. It’s great to be here!

WELCOME!! First, tell me a little about your book and why you wanted to write this particular story….

Broken Flight is a story I will forever hold close to my heart. Most of us (I’m assuming) have lost someone close to us. When that person is taken at what we consider to be a young age, I think it is doubly hard on everyone. Those are the times when we question ourselves and everything we’ve come to believe. At least I did. So, Broken Flight was written during one of the darkest times of my life. It is Anna and Grey’s story. A story of soul mates and how not even heaven and hell can break that bond. It’s a journey of hope and despair. It’s a story that requires a lot of faith—faith in ourselves and faith in the unknown. A story about protecting the ones we love, no matter the cost. A story of love and hope with some kick ass angels thrown into the mix. It’s intense and I can’t wait to write the next book in the series!

It is intense 🙂 But in a good way! Do you recall how your interest in writing originated or did you always just know?

My interest stemmed from my love of reading. I’ve always been an avid reader. I love the escape a book offers. I mentioned wanting to give writing a try to my sister who is also an author. She gave me the support and nudge I needed.

I love reading too, but I don’t think I could be a writer, so I always love when someone says reading inspired them! What inspired you to write your first book and what was it?

One word: Coffee. Love it, crave it, must have it. My first book is still unfinished and may remain so. It’s a contemporary about a woman who loves coffee so much she decides to move to Florida and open her own coffee shop…with a twist. Once happy hour hits, the coffee drinks come with a little (or a lot) of liquor. However, her dreams could get squashed by the local rich bad guy, hell bent on buying up all the property and building big waterfront condos. Fun, right? And terribly, terribly written. But I do love the characters, so we’ll see.

OH COFFEE!!! 😛 PS Don’t give up, you could fix it, I bet! Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Many times, my characters reflect personalities of people I know. All people influence me, one way or another, every day. The trick is to morph them just enough that they become unrecognizable. Holding these secrets is just too fun!

Sweet Baby Jesus, I am scared if someone inspires those torturous beings LOL 🙂 How do you choose when/which characters die in your books?

That’s a tough one. It’s almost always a surprise to me. You’d think I’d know that someone is going to die, but it doesn’t work that way with me. When it happens to one of the good guys, I actually cry. These characters become family and friends to me. I know that sounds weird, but for 6-12 months, they are constantly with me and I grow very attached. That’s why writing a series is great. I love getting to keep them with me a little longer.

Awww, I always thought it was only me who cried when characters died 🙂 Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I’m taking this as “new to me” authors and saying Rae Carson.  A friend recommended (insisted upon) The Girl of Fire and Thorns. This book is now in my top 5 of all time.

Who do you look up to as a writer?

Oh, there are so many AMAZING authors out there. To name a few, I’d say Heather Graham, Kresley Cole, Nora Roberts and Gena Showalter.

All excellent choices 🙂 If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

I’m actually quite pleased with the way Broken Flight turned out. But, if I were to change anything, I’d expand on the reasons for the war/conflict between the angels. I’ll definitely being adding in a lot more of that in the books to come.

I think it’s ok to add as you go, rather than put it all in book one 🙂 So, I think you should do just that! Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

The answer to that is easy. It’s starting a new book. Even if I think I know the story beginning to end, writing those first words is borderline impossible for me. But once done, I’m hooked and soaring.

What book are you reading now? Or what genre? My followers love author’s opinions!

I just started Let the Dead Sleep by Heather Graham. I’m only a chapter or two in so far, but I’m hooked!

Who designed the cover? And do you help with them?

I’m very proud to say that I designed this cover. I’ve been a cover artist for about two years now and it’s really great that I was able to create one for Broken Flight.

I believe this to be the coolest thing yet! 🙂 Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

I learned to never let hope slip away, to fight for what I believe in, to push myself on a daily basis, to be proud and confident…to be fierce.

Well, I don’t think anyone has said something so awesome yet! Are there any books you think some of us should read, just because?

Anything and everything you can get your hands on. And when you like it, suggest it to others. Word of mouth is huge in this business. Some of my favorite books came to me via recommendation.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Yes! Thank you!!! Thank you!!! Thank you!!! There are a bazillion books out there to choose from, and when I hear back from someone that chose one of mine I can’t help but smile. It means the world. It truly does.

Well, from my mouth, You are most certainly welcome! I will say thank you for writing awesome books!!! And of course, thank you for that awesome interview. Let’s hope we can do it again soon 🙂 

Elle J Rossi

Elle J Rossi grew up in rural Indiana surrounded by great people, a huge family and more animals than she could count. But the sites and sounds of the world beckoned, so she left her small town to escape into a creative world full of music. As a full time singer she was able to lose herself in a thousand different songs in a hundred different places. After meeting the love of her life and settling down, she yearned to find a new and fulfilling creative outlet. Overly fond of the happily ever after, she wondered what it would be like to have her own characters lead her down dark and twisted paths. The very first word on the very first page sealed her fate. She’d found a new love. She’d found her escape. Now along with weaving haunting tales about the journey to love, she’s creating cover art for authors around the world and loving every second of it. For fun, she cranks country music to take her back to her roots, and sings karaoke anytime she gets a chance. Her husband, two children, and a cat that rules the roost keep her company along the way and guarantee she doesn’t get lost in the enchanted forest. She wouldn’t have it any other way.

Website – Blog – Twitter – Facebook

Broken Flight Tour schedule:

Giveaway:

I am so happy to say I am offering an ebook copy and swag to one winner, AND it’s international!! 🙂 YAY! So, leave me or the lovely Ms Rossi a comment and I’ll pick a winner! 🙂 

I hope you guys enjoyed today! I know I did 🙂 I wanna send an extra thank you out to Ms. Rossi for that awesome interview, and to my wonderful ladies at Dark World Books who gimme excellent books to tour with 🙂 Happy reading everyone and later gators!

5 thoughts on “Broken Flight Blog Tour w Giveaway

  1. bn100 says:

    Cool you designed the cover yourself

  2. Elle J Rossi says:

    Maghon! I had so much fun here with you!! Thank you for the wicked awesome interview and the best review EVER!

  3. […] 30th | Happy Tails and Tales (Review, Author Interview, […]

  4. […] 30th | Happy Tails and Tales (Review, Author Interview, […]

What do you have to say?

