Nightlife Review!

I love being able to get review copies from NetGalley! I have found so many great books, and when I do I get to tell you about them. So, let me tell you about this one. 🙂 

Nightlife

Nightlife

For centuries an ancient evil has slept beneath the streets of New Harbor. This Halloween, it wakes up.
An action-packed debut horror novel from talented new writer Matthew Quinn Martin, Nightlife pits a feisty bartender and a mysterious loner against bloodthirsty terrors as alluring as they are deadly.Nightclub bartender and serial heartbreaker Beth Becker might be a cynic. But when her best friend goes missing Halloween night, Beth knows it’s up to her to find out what happened.

Her quest will take her on an odyssey through the crumbling city of New Harbor, Connecticut. Along the way she meets a homeless prophet warning of something he calls the “Night Angel”-a bloodthirsty creature that feeds on the forgotten. And she will form an unlikely bond with a hunted stranger who knows all too well what stalks the streets at night.

ebook, 384 pages
Published October 21st 2013 by Pocket Star
ISBN 1476746893 (ISBN13: 9781476746890)
My Review:
I really liked this one. It’s perfect when you need an edge-of-your-set, totally unpredictable, slightly horror sided story with some awesome characters to keep you riveted.  This one slightly blew my mind. I was thinking that it was going to be the worst, saddest ending, you know, those movies you watch where everyone sacrifices themselves to save the world. Yeah, I was expecting something along those lines. AND it’s pretty damn close. I will say if you are a little sqeemish, maybe take care, but it’s not bad, because I totally LOVED it! Also, I will keep with the part horror because it’s pretty close to making my toes quake 🙂 AND the vampers are the bad guys which is totally awesome for me! 
The vamps are not your typical vampires in here, maybe that’s why they intrigued me. You know, a common thing about vamps is their glamour in all stories. Well, except in here, their glamour doesn’t make they pretty, it makes YOU see what YOU think is pretty. It’s totally mind blowing! It totally made for a very hard time for the good guys to work around this. I mean think about trying to kill 5 vampires, and they ALL look identical to your loved one. Holy shit right! Seriously, I was totally freaking out with this one. 
Jack is our vampire hunter/killer, and because of his very tragic meeting with one, he’s had nothing but ridding the world of these horrid creatures. I like Jack, he’s so damn serious that I wanna slap him a little, and Beth finally gets him to smile. And best of all, a dog won his heart 🙂 He’s also very creative with kill kill methods. Totally smart guy, good looking, and a savior who never wants credit. He takes in the dog who saves his life, and even when he’s totally against having other people help him, they can die, he lets Beth help him after she proves she won’t go away anyways 🙂 
Beth made me giggle. She starts out so damn hard core. She’s almost mean. She really is a bitch and she’s ok with that, except to the people who matter to her. She really freaks out when her roommate and best friend goes missing on Halloween night and starts trying to track her down. Her boyfriend is kind of creepy, and though she is a little cold to him, I don’t think I would have dated him in the first place. And then he too goes missing. And then comes back for her as a monster. Beth really does freak out, but I finally liked her when she was freaking out. She seems a little more real. AND she tries very hard to deal and cope with what she is learning about the world. She’s stronger than she knew, plus she can kick some ass! 
This one is one fantastic, CREEPTASTIC, blast of paranormal horror! I am really really hoping that though this book has an ending, that little opening at the end means there will be more to come. I would very much like some more, with Jack and Beth, and the totally awesome doggie! 🙂 5 HORROR-RIFFIC CREEPTASTIC VAMPIRE KILLING PAWS! 
paw main
I hope you guys check this one out! And thanks again Netgalley for letting me read it! 🙂 Happy reading and later gators! 

What do you have to say?